GFFA GlobusGFFA Logo

Review of the GFFA 2014

GFFA 2014 – Overview of the most important events

How can the agricultural sector be strengthened and made resilient enough to secure food and nutrition for a growing world population? This was the core issue of this year’s Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA) which was held from 16 till 18 January 2014 in Berlin under the title of “Empowering Agriculture: Fostering Resilience – Securing Food and Nutrition”.

Over 1,500 participants, which this year included 65 ministers from across the world as well as five international organizations and the European Commission, discussed during the GFFA how agriculture and rural areas could be strengthened and made more resilient. The event focused on three fundamental principles: Diverse production – sustainable management of natural resources – increased productivity!

Documentary

Introduction Video of the International GFFA Panel

Berlin Agriculture Ministers´ Summit

© BMEL / Luca Abbiento

At the 6th Berlin Agriculture Ministers’ Summit, Ministers from 65 States underlined their firm resolution to eradicate hunger and malnutrition and to realize the human right to food. They said that, in the light of the “International Year of Family Farming” called by the United Nations, particular attention should be given to the needs of family farms in the agricultural sector.

International GFFA-Panel

© BMEL / Claudia Frickemeier

The International GFFA – Panel featured high-level representatives from politics, science, research and civil society discussing ways to overcome hunger and malnutrition through an efficient and resilient agricultural sector.

Working Meetings & Expert Panel Discussions

Within the scope of the GFFA, a number of different organisers from politics, industry, science and civil society therefore hosted a total of 21 expert panel discussions, inviting participants to discuss this core subject from different angles and as it related to different regions.

The European Commission, the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO), the Environmental Programme of the United Nations and the World Bank participated with own working meetings in the GFFA.
More

Kick-off Event

For the first time, an official kick-off event was held to mark the start of the discussions between high-level experts of the global agri-food sector from politics, industry, science and civil society that took place from 16 to 18 January 2014.

Recommend this webpage

GFFA GlobusGFFA Logo

Rückblick auf das GFFA 2014

GFFA 2014 – Die wichtigsten Ereignisse im Überblick

Wie können wir die Landwirtschaft stärken und so widerstandsfähig machen, dass die Ernährung einer wachsenden Weltbevölkerung sichergestellt wird? So lautete die Kernfrage des diesjährigen Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA), das unter dem Motto „Landwirtschaft stärken: Krisen meistern – Ernährung sichern “ vom 16. bis zum 18. Januar 2014 in Berlin stattfand.

Über 1.500 Teilnehmer, darunter in diesem Jahr 65 Landwirtschaftsministerinnen und -Minister aus der ganzen Welt, fünf internationale Organisationen sowie die Europäische Kommission diskutierten an den drei Tagen, wie Landwirtschaft und ländliche Räume angesichts vielfältiger Herausforderungen gestärkt und widerstandsfähiger gemacht werden können. Dabei rückte die Veranstaltung drei Grundprinzipien in den Mittelpunkt: Vielfältige Produktion – Nachhaltiges Management natürlicher Ressourcen – Gesteigerte Produktivität!

Dokumentarfilm

Einspielfilm zum Auftakt des Internationalen GFFA Podiums

Berliner Agrarministergipfel

© BMEL / Luca Abbiento

Ministerinnen und Minister aus 65 Staaten der Welt bekräftigten auf dem 6. Berliner Agrarministergipfel ihren entschlossenen Einsatz für die Beseitigung von Hunger und Mangelernährung sowie die Verwirklichung des Menschenrechts auf Nahrung. Mit Blick auf das „Internationale Jahr der familienbetriebenen Landwirtschaft“ der Vereinten Nationen solle den Bedürfnissen der Familienbetriebe in der Landwirtschaft besondere Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet werden.

Internationales Podium

© BMEL / Claudia Frickemeier

Hochrangige Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Forschung und Zivilgesellschaft diskutierten auf dem Internationalen GFFA Podium über Wege zur Überwindung von Hunger und Mangelernährung durch eine leistungs- und widerstandsfähige Landwirtschaft.

Arbeitssitzungen & Fachpodien

Verschiedene Veranstalter aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft sowie internationale Organisationen luden unter dem Dach des GFFA zu intensiven Debatten & fachlichen Vorträgen bei den Arbeitssitzungen und Fachpodien ein, um das Schwerpunktthema unter inhaltlichen und regionalen Einzelaspekten zu diskutieren.

Auftaktveranstaltung

Erstmals bildete eine eigene Auftaktveranstaltung den offiziellen Startschuss für die vom 16. bis 18. Januar 2014 stattfindenden Beratungen von hochrangigen Experten der globalen Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.

Seite empfehlen