GFFA 2019 | Future Forum

GFFA 2019 | Future Forum

Where: City Cube Berlin, Level 2
When: 17 January 2019, from 12:30 pm to 5:00 pm
18 January 2019, from 09:00 am to 4:00 pm
The Future Forum is a new GFFA format and, combining a contemporary exhibition area and an open stage, it is meant to offer a lively space for an interactive exchange between established and new stakeholders within the GFFA 2019. The multimedia presentation of start-ups showcasing their innovative and practice-oriented ideas of the agri-food sector plays a central role in this context.

 

At the same time, international GFFA visitors are provided with new ideas and information on concrete projects or digital solutions concepts for various challenging areas of agricultural practice at home and abroad by engaging in talks with diverse players and sharing their brief presentations on an open stage.

 

 

Overview of Future Forum Exhibitors 2019

Eiwa

Short presentation of the institution
Eiwa’s Digital Phenotyping Platform provides the service to completely digitalize phenological note taking in research, development and marketing plots of agricultural plants. The Platform enables Crop Science Companies to significantly increase the rate of research progress, reduce the time to market and accelerate market penetration, all while reducing manual work on the field.

Short portrait of the project

Eiwa’s Digital Phenotyping Platform is applied to scan the smallest detail of plants contained in a large number of research and demonstration plots throughout the entire growing season. Above and below canopy images are used to generate a virtual, 3 dimensional model of each plant in the field. The platform enables a complete new understanding of interaction between phenotype and environment. Using machine learning algorithms, a broad spectrum of images obtained from cellphones, sensors mounted on existing machinery, UAV and satellites are processed to obtain high quality phenotypic data.

Kontakt

Mr. Nicolaus Otamendi
CEO

Virrey del Pino 3027
1425 Buenos Aires

0054 91158499979
notamendi@eiwa.ag

www.eiwa.ag

EAT global e.V. / gaipa

Short presentation of the institution
EAT global e.V. is a young organization formed January 2018 in Berlin/Germany. EAT global e.V. aims to support people, who
– are particularly affected by the effects of climate change, and
– are living in peripheral and/or underserviced areas and are thus disadvantaged in their development opportunities.
Projects supported will particularly focus on the needs, interests and resources of the people affected. The projects will contribute to sustainable development, following the triple bottom line principle of social, ecological and financial sustainability. Technology will play a major role in achieving the gaols. This is referenced to in the EAT, which stands for Ecological Agriculture Technology.
The gaipa project is one of the first projects of EAT global e.V. The development of the prototype was supported through the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Prototype Fund. The software was developed under an open-source license. The objective is to implement gaipa following a non-profit business model.

Short portrait of the project

gaipa is a global farmer empowerment community equipping farmers to create self-determined and sustainable livelihoods. It will be a one-stop online community assisting especially small-scale farmers in developing countries. The community will be tailored to the needs and digital experiences of farmers.
Varying user interfaces will be created, catering for the various levels of experience. This will reduce barriers in using this online service. At the same time experienced users, especially from supporting institutions such as government extension officers, NGOs or corporates will be supported in offering their services.
The gaipa prototype was developed based on interviews conducted in India and Zambia in March and April 2018.
The key element is the farming cycle, which shows farmers‘ activities as a continuous one. Our test showed this is an appealing and logical entry point for farmers. This is followed by a step-by-step guide for them to find a solution or information they are looking for. Farmers in developing countries are accustomed to such an approach from USSD services, such as recharging their phone or using information services on feature phones (pre smart phone generation).
The prototype app can be accessed via computer or phone at app.gaipa.org.

Kontakt

Mr. Toni Hassenmeier
Präsident/Co-Founder

info@gaipa.org

www.gaipa.org

Marktschwärmer

Short presentation of the institution
The Food Assembly’s vision is to create a better way to eat, where everyone has access to the pleasure of local food, and is connected to the people who make it. Community is at the heart of The Food Assembly – they connect neighbours to farmers, neighbours to each other, and everyone to their food.

Bringing power back to producers and consumers, the social startup’s vision is a world with short supply chains where people re-connect to their food in a better way. By combining technology and sustainable agriculture, The Food Assembly supports a healthier world where everyone can shop, cook and eat with peace of mind.

Starting in France, and now a movement across 7 European countries, The Food Assembly believes in value-led innovation and is constantly seeking to sharpen their digital tool that already connects more than 1.7 million consumers to 11,000 local food producers.

Short portrait of the project

The Food Assembly connects you directly to local food producers through a fair and transparent retail model. Along with The Food Assembly, two kinds of people make an Assembly happen: Hosts and Producers. The Producers sell directly to customers through The Food Assembly online market. Hosts organise the weekly online shop and the local pick-up markets.

Members pay the food Producer directly, allowing them to earn more than 80% for their hard work. The Food Assembly offers a fair and transparent way of buying food: Producers set their own price, and the service fees are fixed and well-balanced for the Host and The Food Assembly.

Being part of a local Food Assembly is a fantastic way to shop: With less food miles, it is the freshest food available. By preordering online, it is convenient and there’s no food waste. Picking up their order at the pop-up market enables consumers to meet their local producers and neighbours.

Kontakt

Mr. Volker Zepperitz
Pressesprecher

Boxhagener Straße 82
10245 Berlin

+49 (0) 3040364956
kommunikation@marktschwaermer.de

www.marktschwaermer.de

trecker.com / Yara Digital Farming

Short presentation of the institution
trecker.com 2012 was founded by Benedikt Voigt and Miro Wilms on the campus of the Humboldt University in Berlin. Voigt was previously an international SAP consultant with passion for programming and hence responsible for the technical implementation. Wilms has gained extensive experience in several internet start-ups – amongst others in one of Berlin’s biggest exits in 2016 – and thus brings profound business acumen. Today, trecker.com boosts digitization to an economic sector heretofore unrecognized by most companies.

To develop the best software for agriculture the two founders paired their expertise with the experience of highly professional farms. There, they spent several months in the company and also worked on the field. By now, trecker.com cooperates with numerous agricultural companies and employs around 20 people. In November 2014, Target Partners – one of the leading technology investors in Europe – invested 2.1 million euros in the young software platform. In addition, the European Union supported the development of trecker.com with 850,000 euros in 2017. In July 2018, trecker.com was acquired by Yara and became part of the business unit “Digital Farming”. The purpose of Yara Digital Farming is to develop new digital plant nutrition solutions and to offer applications that support farmers in managing their business in a more profitable and sustainable way.s

Short portrait of the project

trecker.com pursues the goal to reduce the office time of farmers. Thereby they have more time for their true passion – farming. The easy to handle management software substitutes the elaborate paper work of agricultural holdings.The Smartphone-App enables the farmers to document all current activities in real-time for example tillage, plant protection or harvest. All recorded data converge on the trecker.com platform of the agricultural holding. The platform automatically fills up with the recorded data and thus creates a farm management software that fits to legal requirements. Besides that, farmers have direct access to activity and cost analyses to make data-based decisions regarding the company organization and production.

Kontakt

Ms. Manuela Pawlewski
Managerin Kundenerfolg

Gneisenaustr. 66
10961 Berlin

+49 (0) 1749979384
manuela.pawlewski@trecker.com

www.trecker.com

MonitorFish GmbH

Short presentation of the institution
MonitorFish is a Berlin-based venture developing a smart diagnostic system for intelligent monitoring of animal welfare in aquaculture.

Short portrait of the project

Our solution offers fish farmers an AI supported system that helps to maximise yield, reduce fish mortality, monitors the complexity of fish welfare and if necessary, generates highly specific action recommendations to ensure optimal conditions for the fish. Taken together out cloud-based solution can thus offer fish farmers a high level of security for their fish population. In addition to this our proprietary cloud-based fish monitoring system is also able to detect abnormal fish behaviour, as well as to collect information about fish size and form and water parameters.

Kontakt

Mr. M.Sc. Dominik Ewald
Technischer Leiter

Hönower Str. 34
10318 Berlin

0019 176 216 141 78
ewald@monitorfish.com

www.monitorfish.com

GFFA 2019 | Zukunftsforum

GFFA 2019 | Zukunftsforum

Wo: City Cube Berlin, Ebene 2
Wann: 17. Januar 2019, von 12:30 bis 17:00 Uhr
18. Januar 2019, von 09:00 bis 16:00 Uhr
Das Zukunftsforum ist ein neues GFFA-Format und soll mit einer Kombination aus zeitgemäßer Ausstellungsfläche und offener Bühne einen lebendigen Raum für den interaktiven Austausch zwischen etablierten und neuen Akteuren im Rahmen des GFFA 2019 bieten. Die multimediale Präsentation von Start-up-Unternehmen mit innovativen und anwendungsorientierten Ideen aus der Agrar- und Ernährungsbranche spielt dabei eine zentrale Rolle.

Aufstrebende Start-ups haben die Chance, über ihre digitalen Produkte und Dienstleistungen zu informieren, Erfahrungen auszutauschen und neue Kontakte zu potenziellen Partnern und Investoren zu knüpfen.
Zugleich erhalten die internationalen Besucher des GFFA durch den Austausch mit vielfältigen Akteuren und deren Kurzpräsentationen auf einer offenen Bühne neue Anregungen und Informationen zu konkreten Projekten oder digitalen Lösungsansätzen für unterschiedliche Problemstellungen aus der landwirtschaftlichen Praxis im In- und Ausland.

 

 

Überblick der Zukunftsforumaussteller 2019

Eiwa

Kurzbeschreibung der Institution
Eiwa’s „Digital Phenotyping Platform“ führt die vollständige Digitalisierung phänologischer Merkmale von landwirtschaftlichen Nutzpflanzen durch, deren Information z.B. in Forschung, Entwicklung und Vermarktung dieser Nutzpflanzen Anwendung findet. Die Plattform ermöglicht es Crop Science-Unternehmen, die Geschwindigkeit des Forschungsfortschritts erheblich zu steigern, die Markteinführungszeit zu verkürzen und die Marktdurchdringung zu beschleunigen, während gleichzeitig der Einsatz manueller Arbeit auf dem Feld verringert wird.

Kurzportrait des Projektes

Eiwa’s „Plattform zur digitalen Phänotypisierung“ wird eingesetzt, um während der gesamten Wachstumsperiode selbst die kleinsten Details von Pflanzen auf den zahlreichen Forschungs- und Demonstrationsflächen zu scannen. Über- und Unter- Canopy-Bilder erzeugen ein virtuelles dreidimensionales Modell jeder einzelnen Pflanze der Versuchsflächen. Durch den Einsatz von Maschinellen-Lern-Algorithmen wird ein breites Spektrum von Aufnahmen, z.B. von Mobiltelefonen, Sensoren an vorhandenen Maschinen, UAV oder Satelliten, verarbeitet und qualitativ hochwertige phänotypische Daten der erfassten Nutzpflanzen zu erstellen. Die Plattform ermöglicht ein völlig neues Verständnis der Interaktion zwischen Phänotyp und Umwelt.

Kontakt

Herr Nicolaus Otamendi
CEO

Virrey del Pino 3027
1425 Buenos Aires

+54 91158499979
notamendi@eiwa.ag

www.eiwa.ag

GAIPA / EAT GLOBAL E.V.

Kurzbeschreibung der Institution
EAT global e.V. ist eine junge Organisation, die im Januar 2018 in Berlin gegründet wurde. Ziel des Vereins ist es Menschen zu unterstützen, die
– besonders stark von den Folgen des Klimawandels betroffen sind, und
– in peripheren und/oder unterversorgten Gebieten leben und somit in ihren Entwicklungschancen benachteiligt sind.
Bei den unterstützen Projekten wird insbesondere darauf geachtet, dass diese auf den Bedürfnissen, Vorstellungen und vorhandenen Ressourcen der betroffenen Bevölkerung aufsetzen. Die Projekte leisten so einen Beitrag zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung, im Dreiklang von Ökologie, Sozialem und Ökonomie.
Technologie wird eine Schlüsselrolle zukommen, bei der Erreichung der Ziele. Dies spiegelt sich im EAT wider, was für Ecological Agriculture Technology steht.
gaipa ist eines der ersten Projekte von EAT global e.V. Die Entwicklung des Prototyps wurde durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und den Prototype Fund unterstützt. Die Software wurde unter einer Open-Source-Lizenz entwickelt. Ziel ist es, gaipa mit einem Non-Profit-Geschäftsmodell umzusetzen.

Kurzportrait des Projektes

gaipa ist eine Global Farmer Empowerment Community, die Landwirte in die Lage versetzt, selbstbestimmte und nachhaltige Lebensgrundlagen zu schaffen. Es wird eine Online-Community aus einer Hand sein, die vor allem Kleinbauern in Entwicklungsländern unterstützt. gaipa wird auf die Bedürfnisse und die digitalen Erfahrungen der Landwirte zugeschnitten.
Verschiedene Benutzeroberflächen werden eingerichtet, welche die unterschiedlichen Erfahrungsstufen berücksichtigen. Dadurch werden Hürden bei der Nutzung dieses Onlinedienstes reduziert. Gleichzeitig werden erfahrene Benutzer, insbesondere von unterstützenden Institutionen wie Regierungsbeamte, NGOs oder Unternehmen, bei der Bereitstellung ihrer Angebote unterstützt.
Der gaipa-Prototyp wurde auf der Grundlage von Interviews entwickelt, die im März und April 2018 in Indien und Sambia durchgeführt wurden. Zentrales Element ist ein Kreislauf, der die landwirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten als kontinuierlichen Zyklus darstellt. Unser Test hat gezeigt, dass dies ein ansprechender und logischer Einstieg für Landwirte ist. Nach diesem Einstieg führt ein strukturiertes System die Landwirte zur Lösung oder Information für das Problem, welches sie zu lösen versuchen. Landwirte in Entwicklungsländern sind an einen solchen Ansatz von bestehenden USSD-Diensten gewöhnt, beispielsweise zum Aufladen von Guthaben in Pre-paid Telefonen oder die Verwendung von Informationsdiensten für sogenannte Feature Phones (Pre-Smart-Phone-Generation Handys).
Die Prototyp-App kann via app.gaipa.org sowohl auf einem Computer als auch Handy genutzt werden.

Kontakt

Herr Toni Hassenmeier
Präsident/Co-Founder

info@gaipa.org

www.gaipa.org

Marktschwärmer

Kurzbeschreibung der Institution
Marktschwärmer verbindet unter dem Motto „Bauer To The People“ die besten Lebensmittelerzeuger einer Region mit ihren Kunden in der Stadt. Durch die kluge Kombination aus digitalem Shop und analogem Bauernmarkt gestaltet Marktschwärmer die Zukunft der bäuerlichen Direktvermarktung entscheidend mit.

Die Marktschwärmer-Idee, die ihren Ursprung in Frankreich hat, entwickelt sich mehr und mehr zur europäischen Bewegung: Bereits mehr als 1,7 Millionen Verbraucher in sieben Ländern bilden mit über 11.000 Erzeugern lokale Einkaufsgemeinschaften – weil sie wissen wollen, wo ihr Essen herkommt, was drin steckt und wer es hergestellt hat.

Marktschwärmer nutzt werteorientierte Innovation, um die Ernährungswende für eine nachhaltige Lebensmittelwirtschaft voranzutreiben, deren Ziele faire Preise für alle und volle Transparenz in der Wertschöpfungs- und Produktionskette unseres Essens sind.

Kurzportrait des Projektes

Mit der Kombination aus Onlineshop und Bauernmarkt bringt Marktschwärmer Verbraucher und Erzeuger regionaler Lebensmittel auf einem ganz neuen Weg zusammen: Kunden bestellen und bezahlen bequem online. Ihren Einkauf holen sie einmal pro Woche bei einem Popup-Markt um die Ecke ab. Dort treffen sich Kunden und Erzeuger persönlich zur Übergabe und zum Austausch.

Das Social Startup hat die erste Online-Plattform entwickelt, die einen direkten Vertriebsweg für kleine Erzeuger schafft, ohne dabei selbst zum Zwischenhändler zu werden. So fördert Marktschwärmer nicht nur regionale Wertschöpfung, sondern ermöglicht den Erzeugern auch selbstständige Preisgestaltung und faire Margen: Mehr als 80% des Verkaufserlöses bleiben so beim Erzeuger.

Marktschwärmer-Kunden schätzen die transparente und faire Alternative zum Einzelhandel und unterstützen gleichzeitig aktiv kürzere Transportwege, weniger Verpackungen und weniger Lebensmittelverschwendung.

Kontakt

Herr Volker Zepperitz
Pressesprecher

Boxhagener Straße 82
10245 Berlin

+49 (0) 3040364956
kommunikation@marktschwaermer.de

www.marktschwaermer.de

trecker.com / Yara Digital Farming

Kurzbeschreibung der Institution
trecker.com wurde 2012 von Benedikt Voigt und Miro Wilms auf dem Campus der Berliner Humboldt Universität. Voigt war zuvor internationaler SAP-Berater und verantwortete die technische Umsetzung. Wilms, der betriebswirtschaftliche Kopf, sammelte Erfahrung in mehreren Internet-Start-ups und begleitete u.a. den Aufbau eines Startups, das in 2016 einen der größten Exits des Jahres verbuchen konnte. Heute bringen sie den digitalen Fortschritt in einen Wirtschaftsbereich, der bisher nur von wenigen Start-ups beachtet wurde.

Um die beste Software für die Landwirtschaft zu entwickeln, paarten die beiden Gründer ihre Internet-Expertise mit der Erfahrung hochprofessioneller Agrarbetriebe. Dort verbrachten sie mehrere Monate im Unternehmen und packten auch auf dem Feld mit an. Heute arbeitet trecker.com mit zahlreichen landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben zusammen und beschäftigt um die 20 Mitarbeiter. Im November 2014 investierte Target Partners – einer der führenden Technologie-Investoren in Europa – 2,1 Millionen Euro in die junge Software-Plattform. Zudem unterstützte die Europäische Union die Weiterentwicklung von trecker.com im Jahr 2017 mit 850.000 Euro. Im Juli 2018 wurde trecker.com von Yara übernommen und ist seither Teil der Geschäftseinheit „Digital Farming“. Diese verfolgt das Ziel, neue digitale Lösungen für die Pflanzenernährung zu entwickeln sowie Anwendungen anzubieten, die Landwirte und Lohnunternehmer dabei unterstützen, ganzheitlich profitabler und nachhaltiger zu wirtschaften.

Kurzportrait des Projektes

trecker.com hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Bürozeit in der Landwirtschaft zu reduzieren – damit Landwirte wieder mehr Zeit für Ihre wahre Leidenschaft haben: Landwirtschaft. Die einfach zu bedienende Farm-Management-Software ersetzt dabei in erster Linie die aufwendige Zettelwirtschaft in den Betrieben. Via Smartphone-App können Landwirte alle Aktivitäten in Echtzeit dokumentieren, die auf den Schlägen stattfinden – von der Bodenbearbeitung über den Pflanzenschutz bis hin zur Ernte. Alle erfassten Daten laufen in der trecker.com Online-Plattform des Betriebs zusammen. Dort wird anhand der erfassten Daten ganz automatisch – ohne weiteres Zutun oder Papierkram – die Ackerschlagkartei für die gesetzliche Dokumentation gefüllt. Zudem erhalten Landwirte wichtige Auswertungen zu den Aktivitäten und Kosten auf Knopfdruck, um datenbasierte Entscheidungen für die Betriebsorganisation und die Produktion zu treffen.

Kontakt

Frau Manuela Pawlewski
Managerin Kundenerfolg

Gneisenaustr. 66
10961 Berlin

+49 (0) 1749979384
manuela.pawlewski@trecker.com

www.trecker.com

MonitorFish GmbH

Kurzbeschreibung der Institution
MonitorFish ist ein in Berlin angesiedeltes Start-up-Unternehmen, welches ein smartes Diagnostik-System zur intelligenten Überwachung des Zustands von Aquakulturen für die Fischzucht entwickelt.

Kurzportrait des Projektes

Unsere Lösung bietet Fischzüchtern ein System basierend auf einer künstlichen Intelligenz, welches die Zucht unterstützt und dadurch die Erträge maximiert, Sterberate senkt auch die Komplexität des Tierwohls überprüft und bei Problemen gezielt fischspezifische Handlungsempfehlungen ausgibt. Unsere Cloud-basierte Analysesoftware gewährt deshalb eine Absicherung des Fischbestandes. Darüber hinaus ist unser proprietäres Cloud-basiertes, intelligentes Fischgesundheitsüberwachungssystem in der Lage abnormales Fischverhalten zu detektieren, als auch Informationen über deren Größe und Form sowie Wasserqualitätsparameter zu sammeln.

Kontakt

Herr M.Sc. Dominik Ewald
Technischer Leiter

Hönower Str. 34
10318 Berlin

+49 (0) 176 216 141 78
ewald@monitorfish.com

www.monitorfish.com