High Level Panel 2: CFS

Responsible Land Governance for Sustainable Food Systems: The CFS Voluntary Guidelines on Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests (CFS VGGT)

Committee on World Food Security (CFS)

Time: Wednesday, 26. January 2022, 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. (CET)

Background
The state of global food security and nutrition is worrying with the latest SOFI report showing that close to 811 million people were hungry in 2020, with healthy diets out of reach for 3 billion worldwide. With only 8 years left to 2030, SDG 2 (Zero Hunger) targets are unlikely to be achieved in many parts of the world.

COVID-19 has added to climate change and natural resource degradation, conflicts, persisting poverty and inequalities as core drivers of food insecurity. Food systems place hard pressure on biodiversity, soils, and the environment. They are responsible for the consumption of over 70% of fresh water resources and between 21% – 37% of all greenhouse gas emissions,

These challenges associated with agriculture and food systems require urgent attention in order to achieve food security and nutrition for all. The sustainability and resilience of agriculture and food systems must be improved to reduce their pressure on natural resources and negative environmental impacts, while mitigating climate change.

In addition, healthy soils and related ecosystem services are imperative for food security, ecosystems stewardship, and biodiversity conservation. Farming practices have a crucial impact on soil fertility and health. More critically, smallholder and family farmers require access to and control over land and other resources to build the resilience and sustainability of food systems.

These issues are at the center of the CFS Voluntary Guidelines on the Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests (CFS VGGT), and its newest policy recommendations on Agroecological and Other Innovative Approaches.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Chair of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS)

Currently serving as Ambassador at Large for Global Food Security at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation of the Government of Spain.

Former Director General for Sustainable Development Policies from 2018 to 2021. In this position, he has been lead author and strategist of the 2030 Agenda Implementation Action Plan of Spain, coordinating the Spanish Voluntary National Review at the High Level Political Forum. Lead author of the Spanish Cooperation Joint Response Strategy to COVID-19 pandemic.

He served in the Executive Office of the United Nations Secretary General from 2011 to 2017, including as Coordinator of the UN Secretary-General High Level Task Force on Global Food Security and as Team Leader of the UN Secretary General’s Special Representative for Food and Nutrition Security from 2016 to 2017, based in Rome. In this capacity, he was representative of the UN SG at the Advisory Committee of the Committee on World Food Security and at the Steering Committee of the Global Agriculture and Food Security Program. He was part of the Milano Group on Sustainable Food Systems convened by UN SG Ban Ki-Moon in 2015 and made seminal contributions to linking ending hunger, poverty and climate-compatible sustainable food systems. Senior policy advisor on sustainable development to the UN Secretary General’s Special Advisor for the Post2015 Development Agenda Ms Amina J Mohammed from 2012 to 2016, leading on food security, agriculture and food systems, financing and climate change. Renowned as being part of the team facilitating the process leading to the adoption of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, he was instrumental on crafting Ban Ki-Moon’s Zero Hunger Challenge and SDG 2.

Before joining the UN, he was Deputy-Director General of Development Policies at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Spain from 2007-2010, leading on Spain’s global response to the global food crisis. He coordinated the 2009 Madrid High Level Meeting “Food Security for All” and substantially contributed to the reform of the Committee on World Food Security. In this position, he was lead author of the 2009-2012 Spanish Cooperation Master Plan and was instrumental on the set up of the Global Agriculture and Food Security Program (GAFSP), the L´Aquila Food Security Initiative, the UN Fund for the Achievement of the Millennium Development Goals and the „Spanish Fund for Cooperation on Water and Sanitation“.

Full time Professor of Development Theory and Planning at the School of Agricultural Engineering and Environment at the Technological University of Valencia UPV (2000-2007) and Director of its Development Cooperation Centre (2004-2007). He founded and coordinated the Development Studies and Applied Ethics Research Group, his research and practice focuses on Sen‘s Capability Approach, development methodology, climate and sustainable development.

An engineer by training, he holds a nationally awarded Ph. D on development planning and management. He is author or co-author of more than 50 publications including journal research papers, 3 books, book chapters and op-eds with a focus on rural development, climate and development effectiveness. With field level experience at project, program and policy levels on agriculture, rural development and renewable energy, in Nicaragua, El Salvador, Guatemala, Morocco, and Argentina, he has been advisor to national and subnational governments, social movements and NGOs on rural development planning, management and sustainable development policies.

Moderator

Jennifer Clapp is a Canada Research Chair in Global Food Security and Sustainability and Professor in the School of Environment, Resources and Sustainability at the University of Waterloo, Canada. She is an expert on the global governance of problems that arise at the intersection of the global economy, food security, and the natural environment. Her recent research projects examine the political economy of financial actors in food systems, the politics of trade and food security, and corporate concentration in the agrifood sector. She has also researched governance responses to food crises, the political economy of food assistance, and global environmental policy.

Professor Clapp has published widely across a range of top journals and presses. Her most recent books include Food, 3rd Edition (Polity, 2020), Speculative Harvests: Financialization, Food, and Agriculture (Fernwood Press, 2018), Hunger in the Balance: The New Politics of International Food Aid (Cornell University Press, 2012), Paths to a Green World: The Political Economy of the Global Environment, 2nd Edition (MIT Press, 2011), and Corporate Power in Global Agrifood Governance (MIT Press, 2009).

Professor Clapp is Vice-Chair of the Steering Committee of the High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition and a member of the International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food). Her research has been recognized with numerous awards, including: Distinguished Scholar award of the Environmental Studies Section of the International Studies Association; Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and recipient of the Innis-Gérin Medal for contributions to Social Sciences; Killam Research Fellowship; Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellowship; the and the Canadian Association for Food Studies Award for Excellence in Research.

Video messages

Education degree:

  • General Secondary Education (Secondary school in Myangad soum, Khovd province in Mongolia)
  • The University of Finance and Economics, Mongolia /Bachelor of Economics (Economist and business researcher)
  • National Academy of Governance (Master of Management)

Experience:

  • Minister of Food, Agriculture and Light Industry since July 2020
  • Head of Government Agency for Policy Coordination on State Property from 2019 to 2020
  • State Secretary of Ministry of Energy from 2016 to 2019
  • Director-General for Public Investment Department of Ministry of Finance from 2015 to 2016
  • Executive director and CEO in private sector from 2001 to 2014
Ruth Meinzen-Dick is a Senior Research Fellow at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). She received her MSc and PhD degrees in Development Sociology from Cornell University. She has published extensively based on her interdisciplinary qualitative and quantitative research on land and water policy, property rights, governance arrangements, gender analysis, and the impact of agricultural research on poverty, drawing on field work in India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Tanzania, Ghana, Kenya, Uganda and Zimbabwe. She co-led the program on Governance of Natural Resources under the CGIAR program on Policies, Institutions and Markets and past president of the International Association for the Study of the Commons (IASC), and recipient of the Elinor Ostrom Award on Collective Governance of the Commons 2019 Senior Scholar award.

Panel Guests

Mr. Ibrahim Turay is the Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR). Before his appointment, he was working as Fisheries Expert and Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist in the Regional Coordination Unit of the World Bank funded West Africa Regional Fisheries Program based at the Permanent Secretariat of the Sub Regional Fisheries Commission in Dakar, Senegal. Mr. Turay worked for eight years at the Fisheries Commission providing technical support to ten coastal countries in West Africa on fisheries governance reform, project implementation, as well as monitor progress and collect relevant data on project results framework.

He also worked for more than 15 years as technical staff in the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources in Sierra Leone and served as Officer in-charge of the Southern Province for fisheries and aquaculture development and later as head of the Statistics and Research Unit of the MFMR. He has a M.Sc. in Fisheries and Marine Resources from the University of Aberdeen, Scotland and a Postgraduate Diploma from Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada in Ocean Governance: Policy, Law and Management – United Nations Convention of the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS).

As the Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources, He is currently assisting the Minister to implement strategic actions of the Fisheries Policy with a view to conserving and sustainably utilizing the marine resources in a manner that is ecologically effective, economically efficient and socially viable. The outcomes of the strategic actions respond directly to the vision of the New Direction’s Agenda which is to conserve and sustainably manage the marine resources for social and economic diversification.

Mr. Maximo Torero Cullen is the Chief Economist of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). He joined the Organization in January 2019 as Assistant Director-General for the Economic and Social Development Department. Prior to joining FAO, he was the World Bank Group Executive Director for Argentina, Bolivia, Chile Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay since November 2016 and before the Bank Mr. Torero led the Division of the Markets, Trade, and Institutions at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). His major research work lies mostly in analyzing poverty, inequality, importance of geography and assets (private or public) in explaining poverty, and in policies oriented towards poverty alleviation based on the role played by infrastructure, institutions, and on how technological breakthroughs (or discontinuities) can improve the welfare of households and small farmers. His experience encompasses Latin America, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Asia.

Mr. Torero, a national of Peru, holds a Ph.D. and a Master’s degree in Economics from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), and a Bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of the Pacific, Lima, Peru. He is a professor on leave at the University of the Pacific, Perú, and an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at University of Bonn, Germany, and has also published in top journals (QJE, Econometric Theory, AER-Applied Microeconomics, RSTAT, Labor Economics and many other top journals).

Mr. Torero has received in 2000 the Georg Foster Research Fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, won the Award for Outstanding Research on Development given by the Global Development Network, twice, in 2000 and in 2002, and received the Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite Agricole in 2014.

For more information, visit: maximotorero.com

Chris Hegadorn is a retired U.S. diplomat whose career included 25 years as a Foreign Service Officer with the U.S. Department of State and earlier positions with the U.S. Senate and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service. Based in Rome, Chris assumed the position of CFS Secretary in March 2019.

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE 

  • Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (Minister, September 2021- Present)
  • Agriculture and Rural Development Agency (General Director, July 2017 – September 2021)
  • Financial Services Volunteer Corps/USAID (Country Director, October 2013 – July 2017)
  • Tirana Bank (Marketing and PR Manager, March 2011 – September 2013)
  • Agna Group On Time Concept (General Manager, April 2009 – March 2011)
  • Agna Group (Diageo Marketing Manager, November 2007- April 2009)
  • Performance Research, USA (Researcher, November 2005 – May 2007)
  • Financial Services Volunteer Corps/USAID (Program Officer, November 2001- August 2005)
  • World Learning/USAID Tirana (Program Coordinator, September 2000 – March 2001)

EDUCATION 

  • Harvard Business School, 2018
  • Leading Economic Growth
  • Harvard Business School Publishing, 2012
  • Piraeus Bank Group Management E-Academy, January – December 2012
  • The University of Akron, College of Business Administration – Ohio, USA (MBA – Management & Supply Chain Management, August 2005 – May 2007), AWARDS: Fulbright Scholarship, US State Department
  • University of Tirana, Faculty of Economics – Tirana, Albania (B.A. Business Administration, Management, June 2000)

Interventions during Q&A session

  • Professional Farmer
  • Current Farmers’ union “INGABO Syndicate’s” Chairperson
  • Current Agripool member (Worldwide Agri-experts’ hub working under Agriterra-Ducth Agri-Agency)
  • Long term (above 20 years) experience in national and regional farmers’ organizational leadership
  • Various conferences,trainings and study toursattendance on different themes organized by United Nations, IFAD, FAO, Ministry of Agriculture in Rwanda,International Agri-Agencies, and Farmers organizations
  • Awardee as a top winner in different Agri-competitions such as one jointly organized by “Famille Terre” and UPADI from Canada and the one organized by “Flandre Orientale”-Belgium province
Perla Alvarez Britez, mujer campesina paraguaya, docente de la lengua guaraní, militante de la CONAMURI, Organización de Mujeres Campesinas e Indígenas, Referente de la CLOC – Vía Campesina y de la Alianza por la Soberanía Alimentaria, desde donde integra el Mecanismo de la Sociedad Civil del CSA.

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

High Level Panel 2: CFS

Verwaltung von Landnutzungsrechten und Nachhaltigkeit: Ein Plädoyer für das CFS und seine Freiwilligen Leitlinien für die verantwortungsvolle Verwaltung von Nutzungsrechten an Land, Fischgründen und Wäldern

Committee on World Food Security (CFS)

Zeit: Mittwoch, 26. Januar 2022, 11:00 -12:30 Uhr

Hintergrund
Die Situation der globalen Ernährung und Ernährungssicherheit ist besorgniserregend. Der jüngste Weltbericht zu Hunger und Unterernährung (SOFI) zeigt, dass 2020 nahezu 811 Millionen Menschen an Hunger litten und eine gesunde Ernährung für 3 Milliarden Menschen weltweit außer Reichweite war. Da bis 2030 nur noch acht Jahre verbleiben, ist es unwahrscheinlich, dass die Zielvorgaben des SDG2 (Null Hunger) in vielen Teilen der Welt erreicht werden.

Die COVID-19 Pandemie hat die Hauptursachen der Nahrungsmittelunsicherheit, d.h. den Klimawandel, die Zerstörung der natürlichen Ressourcen, Konflikte, anhaltende Armut und Ungleichheiten, noch verschärft. Die Ernährungssysteme üben großen Druck auf die Biodiversität, Böden und die Umwelt aus. Auf sie entfallen über 70% des Verbrauchs von Süßwasserressourcen und 21% – 37% aller Treibhausgasemissionen.

Diese mit der Landwirtschaft und den Ernährungssystemen einhergehenden Herausforderungen erfordern sofortiges Handeln, um Ernährungssicherheit und Ernährung für alle zu erreichen. Es gilt, die Nachhaltigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit der Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssysteme zu verbessern, um ihren Druck auf die natürlichen Ressourcen und die negativen Umweltauswirkungen zu verringern und zugleich den Klimawandel abzuschwächen.

Darüber hinaus sind gesunde Böden und die damit verbundenen Ökosystemleistungen unerlässlich für die Ernährungssicherheit, den schonenden Umgang mit Ökosystemen und die Erhaltung der biologischen Vielfalt. Landwirtschaftliche Produktionsverfahren haben einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Bodenfruchtbarkeit und -gesundheit. Noch entscheidender ist, dass Kleinbauern und landwirtschaftliche Familienbetriebe Zugang zu und Kontrolle über Land und andere Ressourcen benötigen, um die Widerstandsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit der Ernährungssysteme zu stärken.

Diese Fragen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Freiwilligen Leitlinien für die verantwortungsvolle Verwaltung von Nutzungsrechten an Land, Fischgründen und Wäldern des CFS (CFS-VGGT) und seiner jüngsten Politikempfehlungen zu agrarökologischen und anderen innovativen Ansätzen.

 

Chair of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS)

Derzeit amtiert er als Sonderbotschafter für globale Ernährungssicherheit im Ministerium für auswärtige Angelegenheiten, Europäische Union und Zusammenarbeit der Regierung von Spanien.

Ehemaliger Generaldirektor für nachhaltige Entwicklungspolitik von 2018 bis 2021. In dieser Position war er federführender Autor und Stratege des Aktionsplans zur Umsetzung der 2030 Agenda in Spanien und koordinierte den spanischen Freiwillige Nationale Überprüfung im Rahmen des Hochrangigen Politischen Forums. Hauptautor der Gemeinsamen Reaktionsstrategie der spanischen Zusammenarbeit auf die COVID-19-Pandemie.

Er diente im Exekutivbüro des Generalsekretärs der Vereinten Nationen von 2011 bis 2017, unter anderem als Koordinator der Hochrangigen Task Force des UN-Generalsekretärs Hochrangigen Task Force zur globalen Ernährungssicherheit und als Teamleiter des Sonderbeauftragten des UN-Generalsekretärs für Ernährungssicherheit von 2016 bis 2017 mit Sitz in Rom. In dieser Funktion vertrat er den Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen im Beratenden Ausschuss des Ausschusses für Welternährungssicherheit und im Lenkungsausschuss des Programms für globale Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssicherheit.

Er war Mitglied der Milano Group on Sustainable Food Systems, die 2015 vom UN-Generalsekretär Ban Ki-Moon einberufen wurde einberufen wurde, und leistete grundlegende Beiträge zur Verknüpfung von Hunger, Armut und klimaverträglichen nachhaltigen Lebensmittelsystemen. Leitender politischer Berater für nachhaltige Entwicklung beim Sonderberater des UN-Generalsekretärs für die Sonderberater des UN-Generalsekretärs für die Post-2015-Entwicklungsagenda, Amina J. Mohammed, von 2012 bis 2016.

Ernährungssicherheit, Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssysteme, Finanzierung und Klimawandel. Er ist bekannt als Teil des Team, das den Prozess zur Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung unterstützte. Er war maßgeblich an der Ausarbeitung von Ban Ki-Moons Zero Hunger Challenge und SDG 2 beteiligt.

Bevor er zur UNO kam, war er stellvertretender Generaldirektor für Entwicklungspolitik im spanischen Außenministerium.

von 2007 bis 2010 stellvertretender Generaldirektor für Entwicklungspolitik im spanischen Außenministerium und leitete Spaniens globale Reaktion auf die weltweite Nahrungsmittelkrise. Er koordinierte 2009 das hochrangige Treffen in Madrid zum Thema „Ernährungssicherheit für alle“ und trug wesentlich zur der Reform des Ausschusses für Welternährungssicherheit bei. In dieser Position war er federführend bei der Erstellung des Masterplans 2009-2012 Masterplans für die spanische Zusammenarbeit und war maßgeblich an der Einrichtung des Global Agriculture and Food Security Ernährungssicherheitsprogramm (GAFSP), der L’Aquila-Initiative für Ernährungssicherheit, dem UN-Fonds für die Verwirklichung der Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele und des „Spanischen Fonds für die Zusammenarbeit bei der Wasserversorgung und Abwasserentsorgung“.

Vollzeit-Professor für Entwicklungstheorie und -planung an der Fakultät für Agrartechnik und Umwelt an der Technischen Universität Valencia UPV (2000-2007) und Direktor des Zentrums für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit Zentrum für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (2004-2007). Er gründete und koordinierte die Forschungsgruppe für Entwicklungsstudien und angewandte Forschungsgruppe für Entwicklungsstudien und angewandte Ethik. Seine Forschungs- und Praxisschwerpunkte sind Sen’s Capability Approach, Entwicklungsmethodik, Klima und nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Er ist ausgebildeter Ingenieur und hat einen nationalen Doktortitel in Entwicklungsplanung und -management.

Er ist Autor oder Mitautor von mehr als 50 Veröffentlichungen, darunter Forschungsberichte in Zeitschriften, 3 Bücher, Buchkapitel und Buchkapiteln und Meinungsbeiträgen mit den Schwerpunkten ländliche Entwicklung, Klima und Entwicklungseffizienz. Mit Feld Erfahrungen auf Projekt-, Programm- und Politikebene in den Bereichen Landwirtschaft, ländliche Entwicklung und erneuerbare und erneuerbare Energien in Nicaragua, El Salvador, Guatemala, Marokko und Argentinien war er als Berater für nationale und subnationalen Regierungen, sozialen Bewegungen und NROs bei der Planung und Verwaltung der ländlichen Entwicklung und nachhaltige Entwicklungspolitik.

Moderatorin

Jennifer Clapp ist Inhaberin des kanadischen Forschungslehrstuhls für globale Ernährungssicherheit und Nachhaltigkeit und Professorin an der School of Environment, Resources and Sustainability der University of Waterloo, Kanada. Sie ist Expertin für die globale Steuerung von Problemen, die an der Schnittstelle von Weltwirtschaft, Ernährungssicherheit und natürlicher Umwelt entstehen. In ihren jüngsten Forschungsprojekten untersucht sie die politische Ökonomie von Finanzakteuren in Lebensmittelsystemen, die Politik des Handels und der Lebensmittelsicherheit sowie die Unternehmenskonzentration im Agrar- und Lebensmittelsektor. Sie hat sich auch mit den Reaktionen der Regierung auf Nahrungsmittelkrisen, der politischen Ökonomie der Nahrungsmittelhilfe und der globalen Umweltpolitik beschäftigt.

Professor Clapp hat in einer Reihe von Spitzenzeitschriften und Pressen veröffentlicht. Zu ihren jüngsten Büchern gehören Food, 3rd Edition (Polity, 2020), Speculative Harvests: Financialization, Food, and Agriculture (Fernwood Press, 2018), Hunger in the Balance: The New Politics of International Food Aid (Cornell University Press, 2012), Paths to a Green World: The Political Economy of the Global Environment, 2nd Edition (MIT Press, 2011), und Corporate Power in Global Agrifood Governance (MIT Press, 2009).

Professor Clapp ist stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Lenkungsausschusses des High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition und Mitglied des International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food). Ihre Forschung wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter: Distinguished Scholar Award der Environmental Studies Section of the International Studies Association; Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada und Empfängerin der Innis-Gérin-Medaille für Beiträge zu den Sozialwissenschaften; Killam Research Fellowship; Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Fellowship; und der Canadian Association for Food Studies Award for Excellence in Research.

Videobotschaften

Ausbildung:

  • Allgemeine Sekundarschulbildung
  • Sekundarschule in Myangad soum, Provinz Khovd in der Mongolei
  • Universität für Finanzen und Wirtschaft, Mongolei /Bachelor of Economic – Ökonom und Wirtschaftsforscher/
  • Nationale Akademie für Regierungsführung /Master in Management/

Erfahrung:

  • Minister für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Leichtindustrie seit Juli 2020
  • Leiter der Regierungsagentur für die Koordinierung der Politik in Bezug auf staatliches Eigentum von 2019 bis 2020
  • Staatssekretär im Ministerium für Energie von 2016 bis 2019
  • Generaldirektor der Abteilung für öffentliche Investitionen des Finanzministeriums von 2015 bis 2016
  • Geschäftsführender Direktor und CEO in der Privatwirtschaft von 2001 bis 2014
Ruth Meinzen-Dick ist Senior Research Fellow am International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI).  Sie erhielt ihren MSc- und PhD-Abschluss in Entwicklungssoziologie von der Cornell University.  Auf der Grundlage ihrer interdisziplinären qualitativen und quantitativen Forschung zu Land- und Wasserpolitik, Eigentumsrechten, Governance-Regelungen, Gender-Analysen und den Auswirkungen der Agrarforschung auf die Armut hat sie zahlreiche Publikationen veröffentlicht, die sich auf Feldarbeit in Indien, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesch, Tansania, Ghana, Kenia, Uganda und Simbabwe stützen.  Sie war Mitleiterin des Programms „Governance of Natural Resources“ im Rahmen des CGIAR-Programms „Policies, Institutions and Markets“ und ehemalige Präsidentin der International Association for the Study of the Commons (IASC) sowie Empfängerin des Elinor Ostrom Award on Collective Governance of the Commons 2019 Senior Scholar Award.

Podiumsgäste

Ibrahim Turay ist der stellvertretende Minister für Fischerei und Meeresressourcen (MFMR). Vor seiner Ernennung war er als Fischereiexperte und Spezialist für Überwachung und Bewertung Spezialist in der regionalen Koordinierungsstelle des von der Weltbank Westafrikanischen Regionalen Fischereiprogramms mit Sitz im Ständigen Sekretariat der Subregionalen Fischereikommission in Dakar, Senegal. Herr Turay arbeitete acht Jahre lang bei der Fischereikommission und leistete technische Unterstützung für zehn Küstenländern in Westafrika bei der Reform der Fischereipolitik, der Projekt Projektdurchführung sowie bei der Überwachung der Fortschritte und der Sammlung Daten für den Ergebnisrahmen von Projekten.

Außerdem arbeitete er mehr als 15 Jahre lang als technischer Mitarbeiter im Ministerium für Fischerei und Meeresressourcen in Sierra Leone und war dort als leitender Beamter der Südprovinz für die Entwicklung der Fischerei und der Aquakultur und später als Leiter der Statistik- und Forschungsabteilung des Abteilung des MFMR. Er hat einen M.Sc. in Fischerei und Meeresressourcen von der Universität von Aberdeen, Schottland, und ein Postgraduierten-Diplom der Dalhousie University, Halifax, Kanada in Meerespolitik: Politik, Recht und Management – Seerechtsübereinkommen der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations Convention of the Law Seerechtsübereinkommen (UNCLOS).

Als stellvertretender Minister für Fischerei und Meeresressourcen unterstützt er derzeit den Minister bei der Umsetzung strategischer Maßnahmen der Fischereipolitik mit dem Ziel der Erhaltung und der Meeresressourcen in einer ökologisch wirksamen, wirtschaftlich effizienten und sozial tragfähigen Weise wirtschaftlich effizient und sozial tragfähig ist. Die Ergebnisse der strategischen Maßnahmen entsprechen direkt auf die Vision der Agenda für die neue Richtung, nämlich die Erhaltung und nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung der Meeresressourcen zur sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Diversifizierung.

Maximo Torero Cullen ist der Chefökonom der Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation (FAO). Er kam im Januar 2019 als stellvertretender Generaldirektor für die Abteilung für wirtschaftliche und soziale Entwicklung zur Organisation. Bevor er zur FAO kam, war er seit November 2016 Exekutivdirektor der Weltbankgruppe für Argentinien, Bolivien, Chile, Paraguay, Peru und Uruguay. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei der Bank leitete Maximo Torero die Abteilung für Märkte, Handel und Institutionen am International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen vor allem in der Analyse von Armut, Ungleichheit, der Bedeutung von Geografie und (privaten oder öffentlichen) Vermögenswerten bei der Erklärung von Armut sowie in politischen Maßnahmen zur Armutsbekämpfung, die sich auf die Rolle von Infrastruktur und Institutionen stützen, und darauf, wie technologische Durchbrüche (oder Diskontinuitäten) das Wohlergehen von Haushalten und Kleinbauern verbessern können. Seine Erfahrung erstreckt sich auf Lateinamerika, Afrika südlich der Sahara und Asien.

Der peruanische Staatsbürger Torero hat einen Doktortitel und einen Master-Abschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), und einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der University of the Pacific, Lima, Peru. Er ist beurlaubter Professor an der University of the Pacific, Perú, und Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stipendiat an der Universität Bonn, Deutschland, und hat in hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften (QJE, Econometric Theory, AER-Applied Microeconomics, RSTAT, Labor Economics und vielen anderen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften) veröffentlicht.

Herr Torero erhielt im Jahr 2000 das Georg-Foster-Forschungsstipendium der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung, wurde zweimal, 2000 und 2002, mit dem Preis für herausragende Entwicklungsforschung des Global Development Network ausgezeichnet und erhielt 2014 den Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite Agricole.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: https://maximotorero.com/

Herr Hegadorn ist seit März 2019 Sekretär des CFS mit Sitz in Rom. Seitdem hat er drei verschiedene Vorsitzende unterstützt und das Sekretariat bei der Organisation von vier globalen Plenarsitzungen, der Verhandlung von zwei wichtigen politischen Konvergenzprodukten und zahlreichen öffentlichen Veranstaltungen geleitet, während er gleichzeitig die Mitgliederzahl und die verfügbaren Finanzmittel erhöhte. Chris ist ein pensionierter US-Diplomat, der 25 Jahre lang im Auswärtigen Dienst des US-Außenministeriums tätig war. Davor arbeitete er für den US-Senat und für den Food and Nutrition Service des US-Landwirtschaftsministeriums.

  • Ministerium für Landwirtschaft und ländliche Entwicklung
  • Ministerin, September 2021- Gegenwart
  • Amt für Landwirtschaft und ländliche Entwicklung
  • Generaldirektorin, Juli 2017 – September 2021
  • Finanzdienstleistungs-Freiwilligenkorps/USAID
  • Landesdirektorin, Oktober 2013 – Juli 2017
  • Tirana Bank
  • Marketing- und PR-Managerin, März 2011 – September 2013
  • Agna Gruppe On Time Konzept
  • Geschäftsführerin, April 2009 – März 2011
  • Agna-Gruppe
  • Marketingleiterin bei Diageo, November 2007 – April 2009
  • Leistungsforschung, USA
  • Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, November 2005 – Mai 2007
  • Freiwilligenkorps für Finanzdienstleistungen/USAID
  • Programmbeauftragte, November 2001 – August 2005
  • Weltlernen/USAID Tirana
  • Programmkoordinatorin, September 2000 – März 2001

AUSBILDUNG

  • Harvard Business School, 2018
  • Führendes Wirtschaftswachstum
  • Harvard Business School Publishing, 2012
  • Piraeus Bank Group Management E-Academy, Januar – Dezember 2012
  • Die Universität von Akron, Hochschule für Betriebswirtschaft – Ohio, USA
  • MBA – Management und Lieferkettenmanagement, August 2005 – Mai 2007

AUSZEICHNUNGEN:

  • Fulbright-Stipendium, US State Department
  • Universität von Tirana, Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften – Tirana, Albanien
  • B.A. Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Management, Juni 2000

Wortmeldungen während der Q&A Session

  • Berufliche Landwirtin
  • Derzeitige Vorsitzende der Bauerngewerkschaft „INGABO Syndicate’s“
  • Derzeitiges Agripool-Mitglied (weltweites Zentrum für Agrarexperten, das der Agriterra-Ducth-Agentur untersteht)
  • Langjährige (über 20 Jahre) Erfahrung in der Leitung nationaler und regionaler Bauernorganisationen
  • Teilnahme an verschiedenen Konferenzen, Schulungen und Studienreisen zu unterschiedlichen Themen, die von den Vereinten Nationen, IFAD, FAO, dem ruandischen Landwirtschaftsministerium, internationalen Agri-Agenturen und Bauernorganisationen organisiert wurden
  • Preisträgerin bei verschiedenen Agrarwettbewerben wie den von „Famille Terre“ und UPADI aus Kanada und den von der belgischen Provinz „Flandre Orientale“ organisierten Wettbewerben
Perla Alvarez Britez, paraguayische Bäuerin, Lehrerin der Guarani-Sprache, Aktivistin von CONAMURI, Organisation der Bäuerinnen und indigenen Frauen, Referentin von CLOC – Via Campesina und der Alianza por la Soberanía Alimentaria, wo sie Mitglied des Mechanismus der Zivilgesellschaft des CFS ist.

Seite empfehlen