Science Slam

Science Slam

Science Slam

GFFA event “Think Aloud! – GFFA Science Slam”

The GFFA will take place in a virtual format on 18 – 22 January 2021.


The Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA):

The Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA) is an international conference that focuses on central questions concerning the future of the global agri-food industry. It will be held for the thirteenth time from 18 to 22 January 2021. The GFFA will be hosted by the German Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) in cooperation with the Berlin Senate, Messe Berlin GmbH and the GFFA Berlin e.V..

 

A Science Slam will be held for the third time on the occasion of the 13th GFFA on 21 January 2021.

Subject and schedule:

The Science Slam is intended to illustrate the scientific spectrum of this year’s GFFA subject: “How to Feed the World in Times of Pandemics and Climate Change”.
Therefore, the following questions, in particular, come into consideration:

  • How can food systems emerge strengthened from the COVID-19 pandemic?
  • How can the agricultural sector contribute to preventing further pandemics?
  • How can food systems become more climate-resilient?
  • How can food systems contribute to climate change mitigation better than before?

At this entertaining event, four Science Slams lasting 10 minutes at most that relate to the main subject “How to Feed the World in Times of Pandemics and Climate Change” will be presented after a short welcome by the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) and introduction by the facilitator. The slam presentations must be held in English. Simultaneous interpretation into German will be arranged. In line with the virtual format of the 2021 GFFA, the slammers, facilitator and the audience will be virtually interconnected and the audience will decide in the end in the form of an online vote to whom the BMEL prize will be awarded.

What is a Science Slam?

A science slam is a science flash talk competition where the speakers, within a specified time, present their research topics to a mixed audience. The focus here is on communicating scientific concepts to a non-expert audience. The audience will assess the slams in form of an online vote. Apart from the scientific contents, the comprehensibility and the entertainment value are also rated.

Who can apply?

For this occasion the BMEL is looking for (junior) scientists and students from relevant research institutions and universities from the agri-food sector which deal with this subject area and are interested in presenting a slam in English via live stream in front of a mixed audience. For this purpose, you will only need a laptop with camera, microphone and a safe internet connection. It is intended to carry out a joint preliminary meeting to get to know each other virtually at 11 to 13 hrs (CET) on 15 December 2020 and a further final rehearsal shortly prior to the event.

Do you think you fit the bill? Then complete the submission form and send it to the following e-mail address by 22 November 2020: 626@bmel.bund.de (ref: GFFA Science Slam 2021). To complete the form, you can download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader DC free of charge at: www.adobe.com/reader
If you have any questions regarding the content, please contact Katharina Zehfuß (626@bmel.bund.de).
We look forward to your application!

Katharina Zehfuß & Maja Clausen, on behalf of the GFFA organisation team of the BMEL

Recommend this webpage

Science Slam

Science Slam

Science Slam

GFFA „Think Aloud! – GFFA-Wissenschafts-Slam“

Das GFFA findet vom 18. bis 22. Januar 2021 in einem virtuellen Format statt.


Das Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA):

Das Global Forum for Food and Agriculture (GFFA) ist eine internationale Konferenz, die sich mit zentralen Fragen zur Zukunft der globalen Agrar- und Ernährungswirtschaft befasst. Es findet vom 18. bis 22. Januar 2021 zum dreizehnten Mal statt. Gastgeber des GFFA ist das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berliner Senat, der Messe Berlin GmbH und dem GFFA Berlin e.V.

 

Anlässlich des 13. GFFA findet am 21. Januar 2021 zum dritten Mal ein Science Slam statt.

Thema und Zeitplan:

Der Science Slam soll das wissenschaftliche Spektrum des diesjährigen GFFA-Themas veranschaulichen: „Pandemien und Klimawandel: Wie ernähren wir die Welt?“.
Als Slam-Themen kommen deshalb insbesondere die folgenden Fragen in Betracht:

  • Wie können die Ernährungssysteme gestärkt aus der COVID-19-Pandemie hervorgehen?
  • Was kann der Agrarsektor zur Verhinderung weiterer Pandemienbeitragen?
  • Wie können die Ernährungssysteme klimaresilienter werden?
  • Wie können die Ernährungssysteme besser als bisher zum Klimaschutz beitragen?

Bei dieser unterhaltsamen Veranstaltung werden nach einer kurzen Begrüßung durch das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) und einer Einführung durch den Moderator vier maximal 10-minütige Science Slams zum Hauptthema „Pandemien und Klimawandel: Wie ernähren wir die Welt?“ vorgestellt. Die Slam-Präsentationen müssen in englischer Sprache gehalten werden. Für eine Simultanübersetzung ins Deutsche wird gesorgt. In Anlehnung an das virtuelle Format des GFFA 2021 werden Slammer, Moderation und Publikum virtuell miteinander verbunden und das Publikum entscheidet am Ende in Form einer Online-Abstimmung, an wen der BMEL-Preis vergeben wird.

Was ist ein Science Slam?

Ein Science Slam ist ein wissenschaftlicher Flash-Talk-Wettbewerb, bei dem die Referentinnen und Referenten innerhalb einer bestimmten Zeit ihre Forschungsthemen vor einem gemischten Publikum präsentieren. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Konzepte an ein nicht fachkundiges Publikum. Das Publikum bewertet die Slams in Form einer Online-Abstimmung. Bewertet werden neben den wissenschaftlichen Inhalten auch die Verständlichkeit und der Unterhaltungswert.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Das BMEL sucht zu diesem Anlass (Nachwuchs-)Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und Studierende einschlägiger Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten aus dem Bereich der Agrar- und Ernährungswirtschaft, die sich mit diesem Themenfeld befassen und daran interessiert sind, einen Slam in englischer Sprache per Live-Stream vor einem gemischten Publikum zu präsentieren. Hierfür benötigen Sie lediglich einen Laptop mit Kamera, Mikrofon und eine sichere Internetverbindung. Es ist vorgesehen, am 15. Dezember 2020 um 11 bis 13 Uhr (MEZ) eine gemeinsame Vorbesprechung zum virtuellen Kennenlernen und kurz vor der Veranstaltung eine weitere Generalprobe durchzuführen.

Glauben Sie, dass Sie den Anforderungen gerecht werden? Dann füllen Sie das Bewerbungsformular in englischer Sprache aus und senden Sie es bis zum 22. November 2020 an folgende E-Mail-Adresse: 626@bmel.bund.de (Betreff GFFA Science Slam 2021). Die neueste Version von Adobe Acrobat Reader DC zum Ausfüllen des Formulars erhalten Sie kostenlos unter: http://www.adobe.com/go/reader_de
Wenn Sie Fragen zum Inhalt haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an Katharina Zehfuß (626@bmel.bund.de).
Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung!

Katharina Zehfuß & Maja Clausen, im Namen des GFFA-Organisationsteams des BMEL

Seite empfehlen