GFFA GlobusGFFA Logo

Expert Panel 1

Building Forward Better – for ONE Climate-Resilient and Healthy WORLD without Hunger.

German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), World Bank, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research – CGIAR

Time: Monday, 18. January 2021, 13:00 – 14:00 (CET)
Languages: English, German

Panel guests will be announced soon

 

The COVID-19 pandemic fundamentally changed the world last year; for developing countries, it has reinforced existing crises and negative trends. For instance, hunger and malnutrition have increased in 2020. Climate change is increasingly affecting developing countries and, as a result, their food systems are under increasing pressure; animals and humans are living in greater proximity with one another and further pandemics such as COVID-19 may occur. Systemic connections between zoonotic diseases, the loss of biodiversity and climate change are becoming more evident. Against this backdrop, is a world without hunger still possible?

This event will discuss how the agricultural sector can contribute to preventing further pandemics and how food systems can emerge stronger from the COVID-19 pandemic. The panel will also ask how agriculture and food systems in developing countries can be made healthier and more resilient to climate change, and how they can better contribute to climate stewardship.

The focus will be on feasible solutions with a broad impact that make food systems as a whole more sustainable, healthy, gender-sensitive, climate-resilient and crisis-proof.

CGIAR centres worldwide have been working for decades on climate-adapted agriculture and produce, for instance adapted seeds or salt-tolerant plant varieties. Food systems are being transformed, One Health approaches are becoming widespread and digitalisation is already widely used.

Recommend this webpage

GFFA GlobusGFFA Logo

Fachpodium 1

Die Zukunft besser gestalten – für EIN Klima UND eine gesunde ERDE ohne Hunger

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), Weltbank, Internationale Agrarforschungszentren – CGIAR Council Board

Zeit: Montag, 18. Januar 2021, 13:00 – 14:00 Uhr
Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Podiumsgäste werden bald bekannt gegeben

 

Die COVID-19 Pandemie hat im letzten Jahr die Welt fundamental verändert; für Entwicklungsländer hat sie bestehende Krisen und negative Trends verstärkt. So haben im Jahr 2020 Hunger und Mangelernährung zugenommen. Der Klimawandel betrifft Entwicklungsländer immer stärker und als Folge stehen die Ernährungssysteme dieser Länder unter immer stärkerem Druck; Tiere und Menschen rücken näher zusammen und weitere Pandemien wie COVID-19 können auftreten. Systemische Zusammenhänge zwischen Zoonosen, dem Verlust von Biodiversität sowie dem Klimawandel werden immer deutlicher. Ist vor diesem Hintergrund eine Welt ohne Hunger überhaupt noch möglich?

Im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltung wird diskutiert, wie der Agrarsektor zur Verhinderung weiterer Pandemien beitragen kann und wie Ernährungssysteme gestärkt aus der COVID-19 Pandemie hervorgehen können. Gleichzeitig soll die Frage gestellt werden, wie Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssysteme in Entwicklungsländern klimaresilienter und gesünder gestaltet werden können und besser zum Klimaschutz beitragen.

Im Fokus stehen praxistaugliche und breitenwirksame Lösungen, die Ernährungssysteme insgesamt nachhaltiger, gesünder, gendergerechter, krisen- und klimasicherer zu gestalten.

CGIAR Zentren weltweit arbeiten seit Jahrzehnten an klima-angepasster Landwirtschaft und produzieren z.B. angepasstes Saatgut oder salztolerante Pflanzensorten; Ernährungssysteme werden transformiert; One-Health-Ansätze werden verbreitet und Digitalisierung bereits vielfach genutzt.

Seite empfehlen