GFFA GlobusGFFA Logo
Kick-off Event

Kick-off Event

Kick-off Event

Monday, 18 January 2021, 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. (CET)
Languages: Arabic, English, Spanish, French, Russian, Chinese, German
The kick-off event marked the official start of the GFFA events that took place from 18 to 22 January 2021. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the kick-off event was held in a virtual format, just like all other 2021 GFFA events.

After a brief welcome, a panel discussion was held on the topic of “How to Feed the World in Times of Pandemics and Climate Change”. The kick-off event featured leaders from politics, business, science, and civil society, as well as representatives from international organisations. The panel discussed how agriculture can provide the world long-term with food for a balanced diet despite pandemics and climate change.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Facilitator

Conny Czymoch is an independent international moderator and journalist.

She has been engaged in conference moderation for the European Union, the OECD, German ministries, blue chip corporations, associations, and non-profit organisations for more than two decades, covering a host of global topics.

Topics such as global goals (by 2030), sustainability, international relations, economic and labour issues, supply chains as well as resource efficiency, food and agriculture, climate change, digitization in all walks of business and life, mobility, and social responsibility are at the core of her interests and competence. She frequently moderated at the GFFA, Berlin, for Agricultural and Farmers Associations, for the Ministries for Economic Cooperation as well as for the Ministry for Agriculture, as well as the Future Food, always on diverse aspects of how to feed the world.

For fourteen years until 2011, she worked as anchorwoman for the German political television channel Phoenix. Before that, she was reporter and moderator for Deutsche Welle tv, Deutschlandfunk, WDR, and RTHK (Hong Kong).

Conny is also a media coach for top management – with customers from DAX30 companies as well as international NGOs.

Equal working languages are German and English, conversational French on stage.

Panel guests

As the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy, Dr. Kalibata works with the United Nations system and key partners to provide leadership, guidance, and strategic direction towards the 2021 Food Systems Summit. She is responsible for outreach and cooperation with key leaders, including governments, to ensure the Summit serves as a catalytic process within the Decade of Action to improve food systems around the world to deliver on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and Paris Agreement.

Since 2014, Dr. Kalibata has also served as President of the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), where she leads the organization’s efforts with public and private partners to ensure a food secure and prosperous Africa through rapid, sustainable agricultural growth, improving the productivity and livelihoods of millions of smallholder farmers in Africa.

Prior to joining AGRA in September 2014, Dr. Kalibata was Rwanda’s Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources (MINAGRI) from 2008 to 2014, where she drove programs that moved her country from a food insecure to a food secure status and became a reference point for other countries that sought to deliver agriculture transformation. Dr. Kalibata has held several other leadership positions, including Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Agriculture and Deputy Vice Chancellor of University of Rwanda. She also worked for the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture in Uganda, and various other agricultural development organizations. She sits on various boards, councils and commissions including the Global Commission on Adaptation, the Global Commission on the Economy and Climate, the Global Panel for Agriculture & Food Systems for Nutrition, the Global Agriculture & Food Security Program (GAFSP), the Global Agenda Council of the World Economic Forum, the Malabo-Montpellier Panel, and Africa Risk Capacity, among others.

Dr. Kalibata has a distinguished track record as an agricultural scientist, policy maker and thought leader. She was awarded the Yara Prize, now the Africa Food Prize, in 2012, an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Liège in 2018,  an Honorary Doctorate from McGill Univeristy in 2019, and the National Academy of Sciences’ Public Welfare Medal in April, 2019 for her work to drive Africa’s agricultural transformation through modern sciences and effective policy thereby improving livelihoods of stallholder farmers. Dr. Kalibata holds a doctorate in Entomology from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

As a Veterinary Public Health Inspector, Dr. Monique Eloit occupied several positions in the Ministry of Agriculture in particular as Deputy Head of the Department for food quality and veterinary and plant health actions. After serving as Director at the French Food Safety Agency (1999-2005), she was appointed in 2005 as Deputy Director General for Food, Chief Veterinary officer of France. In 2009, she joined the OIE as Deputy Director General. She was elected Director General of the OIE in May 2015 by the World Assembly.

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Pavan Sukhdev is a scientist by education, an international banker by training, and an environmental economist by passion. Years of work in sustainability and the invisible economics of nature led to his appointment to head the United Nations’ “Green Economy Initiative” and to lead the G8+5 study TEEB (The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity).

In his book ‘Corporation 2020’, he describes four changes in micro-policy and regulation which can rapidly transform today’s corporation to deliver tomorrow’s green and equitable “economy of permanence”. As founder and CEO of GIST Advisory, his sustainability consulting firm, Pavan works with C-suite executives and senior government officials on transition techniques, with an emphasis on metrics.   GIST launched two platforms for Corporate Sustainability at Davos 2020, for large corporations and a simpler version for SME’s in partnership with the International Chamber of Commerce.

Pavan  is a Goodwill Ambassador for UN Environment, promoting TEEB implementation and Green Economy transitions. He has served on the boards of Conservation International (CI), the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), the Stockholm Resilience Centre (SRC) and on the TEEB Advisory Board.

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Sunny Verghese is Group CEO of Olam, and post the re-organisation of the Group announced on 20 January 2020, he holds charge as CEO of Olam Global Agri and Olam International.

He was with the Kewalram Chanrai Group (KC Group) for over two decades and in 1989 was mandated to start the Company with a view to building an agricultural-products business for the KC Group. Before joining the KC Group, he worked for Unilever in India.

Since 2018, Mr Verghese has been Chair of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), the global, CEO-led organisation dedicated to accelerating the transition to a sustainable world.

Mr Verghese previously chaired CitySpring Infrastructure Management Pte Ltd, a listed Business Trust in Singapore and was also a Commissioner of the Business & Sustainable Development Commission (BSDC). He has won several awards including ‘Outstanding Chief Executive’ at the Singapore Business Awards in 2007, ‘Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year’ for Singapore in 2008 and ‘Best CEO of the Year 2011’ at the Singapore Corporate Awards. He was also awarded the Public Service Medal by the Government of the Republic of Singapore in 2010.

Dr. De Jager is president of the World Farmers’ Organisation and former president of the Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU, 2013-2018) and of the Pan African Farmers Union (PAFO, 2014-2017). He is also chairman of the board of Agri All Africa, a board member of FANRPAN and serves on the board of Agri Limpopo, where he is responsible for land reform, transformation, farmer development and Africa Liaison since 2004.

He has farmed in South Africa since 1997 (in the South African Lowveld region) with timber and subtropical fruits (avocados, mangoes and macadamia nuts) and also keeps goats.

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

Auftaktveranstaltung

Auftaktveranstaltung

Auftaktveranstaltung

Montag, 18. Januar 2021, von 11:00 bis 12:30 Uhr
Sprachen: Arabisch, Englisch, Spanisch, Französisch, Russisch, Chinesisch, Deutsch
Die Auftaktveranstaltung gab den offiziellen Startschuss für die im Rahmen des GFFA stattfindenden Veranstaltungen vom 18.-22. Januar 2021. Wie alle Veranstaltungen fand auch die Auftaktveranstaltung im Jahr 2021 in virtuellem Format statt.

Im Anschluss an eine kurze Begrüßung folgte eine moderierte Podiumsdiskussion zu dem Thema: „Pandemien und Klimawandel: Wie ernähren wir die Welt?“ Auf der Auftaktveranstaltung diskutierten Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Vertreterinnen und Vertreter internationaler Organisationen, wie die Landwirtschaft trotz Pandemien und Klimawandel langfristig die Welt ausgewogen ernähren kann.

Aufzeichnung

(de) Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderatorin

Conny Czymoch ist eine unabhängige internationale Moderatorin und Journalistin.

Seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten ist sie für die Europäische Union, die OECD, die ILO, deutsche Bundesministerien, Blue-Chip-Unternehmen, Verbände und gemeinnützige Organisationen für eine Reihe von globalen Themen zuständig.

Zu Ihren inhaltlichen Kernkompetenzen gehören Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, die Global Goals – Agenda 2030, Internationale Beziehungen, Wirtschafts- und Arbeitswelt, internationale Lieferketten sowie Ressourceneffizienz, Welternährung, Klimawandel, das Querschnittsthema Digitalisierung, Mobilität und soziale Verantwortung. Sie hat mehrfach Veranstaltungen des Global Forum Food and Agriculture (GFFA) in Berlin moderiert, genauso wie für deutsche Bauernverbände – und Zusammenschlüsse, ebenso für Fachveranstaltungen von BMZ und BMEL, sowie bei den European Development Days in Brüssel und ist  Stamm-Moderatorin des World Food Forums, (K+S Gruppe), in Berlin. In all diesen Moderationen ging es um die unterschiedlichen Aspekte der Frage: wie werden wir die Welt in der Zukunft ernähren können?

Für 14 Jahre bis 2011 arbeitete sie als Moderatorin für den deutschen Fernsehsender Phoenix. Davor war sie Autorin, Reporterin und Moderatorin für diverse Formate bei Deutschlandfunk, Deutsche Welle, WDR, Radio Fernsehen Hongkong.

Ebenfalls fördert sie die Medienkompetenz von Managern und Führungskräften – bei  DAX30-Unternehmen, dem deutschen Mittelstand  und internationalen NGOs.

Podiumsgäste

Als Sondergesandte des VN-Generalsekretärs nimmt Frau Dr. Kalibata zusammen mit dem System der Vereinten Nationen und wichtigen Partnern eine Führungsrolle ein, stellt Leitlinien bereit und sorgt für die strategische Ausrichtung mit Blick auf den Welternährungsgipfel 2021. Sie ist für die Kontaktaufnahme und Kooperation mit wichtigen Meinungsbildenden, einschließlich Regierungen, zuständig. Ziel ist es sicherzustellen, dass der Gipfel als katalytischer Prozess im Rahmen des Jahrzehnts des Handelns zur Verbesserung der Ernährungssysteme auf der ganzen Welt dient, um die nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (SDG) zu erreichen und das Pariser Klimaschutzübereinkommens einzuhalten.

Seit 2014 ist Frau Dr. Kalibata außerdem Präsidentin der Allianz für eine Grüne Revolution in Afrika (AGRA). In dieser Funktion ist sie für die Maßnahmen der Organisation für Ernährungssicherheit und Wohlstand in Afrika verantwortlich. Diese Ziele werden durch schnelles, nachhaltiges landwirtschaftliches Wachstum, die die Produktivität und die Lebensgrundlagen von Millionen von Kleinbauern in Afrika verbessern und in Zusammenarbeit mit öffentlichen und privatwirtschaftlichen Partnern erreicht..

Vor Aufnahme ihrer Tätigkeit bei der AGRA im September 2014 war Frau Dr. Kalibata von 2008 bis 2014 Ministerin für Landwirtschaft und Tierressourcen (MINAGRI) von Ruanda. Als Ministerin förderte sie Programme, durch die die Ernährungslage in ihrem Land gesichert wurde und die zur Referenz für andere Länder wurden, die eine Transformation der Landwirtschaft anstrebten. Frau Dr. Kalibata hatte mehrere andere Führungspositionen inne, einschließlich die der Staatssekretärin des Landwirtschaftsministeriums sowie der stellvertretenden Vizekanzlerin der Universität von Ruanda. Sie war außerdem für das International Institute of Tropical Agriculture in Uganda und andere Entwicklungsorganisationen im landwirtschaftlichen Bereich tätig.Sie ist Mitglied in mehreren Vorständen, Räten und Gremien, einschließlich der Global Commission on Adaptation, der Global Commission on the Economy and Climate, des Global Panel for Agriculture & Food Systems for Nutrition, des Global Agriculture & Food Security Program (GAFSP), des Global Agenda Council des Weltwirtschaftsforums, des Malabo-Montpellier Panel, der Africa Risk Capacity, und vieler weiterer.

Frau Dr. Kalibata verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen als Agrarwissenschaftlerin, Politikerin und Vordenkerin. Sie wurde 2012 mit dem Yara Prize(jetzt Africa Food Prize genannt) ausgezeichnet, hat 2018 die Ehrendoktorwürde von der Universität Lüttich sowie 2019 von der McGill University verliehen bekommen. Im April 2019 wurde sie mit der Public Welfare Medal der National Academy of Sciences für ihren Einsatz für Afrikas landwirtschaftliche Transformation durch moderne Wissenschaft und wirksame politische Maßnahmen, die die Lebensbedingungen von Kleinbauern verbessern, ausgezeichnet.Frau Dr. Kalibata hat an der University of Massachusetts, Amherst in Entomologie promoviert.

Frau Dr. Monique Eloit hatte als Inspektorin für Tiergesundheit mehrere Posten im französischen Landwirtschaftsministerium inne, unter anderem den der stellvertretenden Abteilungsleiterin für Lebensmittelqualität und Veterinär- und Pflanzenschutzmaßnahmen. Nachdem sie als Direktorin bei der französischen Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit tätig war (1999-2005), wurde sie im Jahr 2005 zur stellvertretenden Generaldirektorin für Lebensmittel und Leiterin der französischen Veterinärdienste ernannt. 2009 wechselte sie als stellvertretende Generaldirektorin zur OIE. Im Mai 2015 wurde sie auf der Weltdelegiertenversammlung zur Generaldirektorin der OIE gewählt.

(de) Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Pavan Sukhdev hat einen naturwissenschaftlichen Bildungshintergrund, blickt auf eine Karriere als internationaler Banker zurück, und ist leidenschaftlicher Umweltökonom. Nach jahrelanger Arbeit in den Bereichen Nachhaltigkeit und nicht sichtbare Ökonomie der Natur wurde er zum Leiter der „Green Economy Initiative“ der Vereinten Nationen ernannt und führte die G8+5-Studie TEEB (The Economics of Ecosystems and Biodiversity) federführend durch.

In seinem Buch „Corporation 2020“ beschreibt er vier Veränderungen auf mikropolitischer und regulatorischer Ebene, durch die die gegenwärtige Unternehmensform zügig umgestaltet werden kann, um eine grüne und gerechte „beständige Wirtschaft“ der Zukunft zu schaffen. Als Gründer und CEO von GIST Advisory, seinem Beratungsunternehmen zu Nachhaltigkeit, arbeitet Pavan mit Mitgliedern der Vorstandebene und hochrangigen Regierungsvertreterinnen und Regierungsvertretern an Methoden für den Wandel und stützt sich dabei stark auf Statistiken. GIST hat zwei Plattformen für unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeit für Großkonzerne beim Weltwirtschaftsforum 2020 in Davos auf den Weg gebracht sowie eine einfachere Version für KMU in Zusammenarbeit mit der Internationalen Handelskammer.

Pavan ist ein Botschafter des guten Willens der UNEP und setzt sich in dieser Rolle für die Umsetzung von TEEB und die Umstellung auf eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft ein. Er war Mitglied im Vorstand von Conservation International (CI), der Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), des Stockholm Resilience Centre (SCR) sowie des TEEB-Beirats.

(de) Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Sunny Verghese ist Vorsitzender der Konzernleitung von Olam und hat seit der am 20. Januar 2020 bekanntgegebenen Umstrukturierung des Konzerns auch die Position des CEO von Olam Global Agri und Olam International inne.

Mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte arbeitete er bei der Kewalram-Chanrai-Unternehmensgruppe (KC Group) und wurde 1989 damit beauftragt, das Unternehmen mit dem Ziel zu gründen, ein Geschäft mit landwirtschaftlichen Produkten für die KC Group aufzubauen. Vor seinem Eintritt bei der KC Group arbeitete er für Unilever in Indien.

Seit 2018 ist Herr Verghese Vorsitzender des World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), der globalen, von Unternehmensvorständen geführten Organisation, die sich der Beschleunigung des Übergangs zu einer nachhaltigen Welt verschrieben hat.

Zuvor leitete Herr Verghese CitySpring Infrastructure Management Pte Ltd, eine börsennotierte Treuhänderschaft (Business Trust) und war außerdem ein Beauftragter der Business & Sustainable Development Commission (BSDC). Er hat mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, unter anderem als ‚Outstanding Chief Executive‘ bei den Singapore Business Awards in 2007, als ‚Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year‘ für Singapur in 2008 und als ‚Best CEO of the Year 2011‘ bei den Singapore Corporate Awards. Im Jahr 2010 wurde ihm von der Regierung der Republik Singapur außerdem die Medaille für herausragende Leistungen im öffentlichen Dienst (Public Service Medal) verliehen.

Dr. De Jager ist Präsident des Weltbauernverbands (WFO) und ehemaliger Präsident des Südafrikanischen Verbands der landwirtschaftlichen Zusammenschlüsse (SACAU, 2013-2018) und des Panafrikanischen Bauernverbands (PAFO, 2014-2017). Ferner ist er Vorstandsvorsitzender der Plattform Agri All Africa, Vorstandsmitglied des Forschungsnetzwerks FANRPAN und im Vorstand des Bauernverbands Agri Limpopo tätig, wo er seit 2004 die Themen Bodenreform, Transformation, Weiterbildung für Landwirte und Beziehungen mit afrikanischen Staaten betreut.

Er ist seit 1997 in Südafrika (in der Region Lowveld) als Landwirt im Anbau von Holz und subtropischen Früchten (Avocados, Mangos und Macadamianüsse) sowie in der Ziegenhaltung tätig.

(de) Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Impressionen

Seite empfehlen