Investing in healthy soils – Curse and blessing of private sector financing and carbon offsetting

WWF Germany

Time: Wednesday, 26. January 2022, 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

Languages: English, German

Summary:
Healthy soils are the assets of our farmers. Investments in healthy soils are consequently investments in the future. The (financial) market “C-sink soil” is booming. However, there is often a lack of specifically tailored financing options for a shift to sustainable agricultural practices that also preserve our soils and restore and improve their fertility.

And this despite the fact that this can support climate change mitigation and adaptation and forms the basis of healthy food.

We want to discuss what is possible, what approaches and initiatives are already in place, and provide real answers as to what needs to be done by the relevant stakeholders (politics, trade, agriculture, financial sector) to establish and implement new funding opportunities.

One much debated approach is partial financing from carbon permits to capitalise on the added value of soils as carbon sinks. Therefore, we will also take a critical look at the subject of Net-Zero and CO2 offsetting and present alternatives.

We believe that funding climate-friendly measures entirely by means of private-sector financing instruments can only be a temporary solution. Such private-sector instruments are always made available on a voluntary basis and, in most cases, only a comparatively small group of holdings that follow a proactive approach makes use of them. As described in the Farm to Fork Strategy, incentives must be offered both by the CAP and private initiatives to achieve the European climate goals. In order to reach as many farms as possible, the EU’s Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) also holds potential for making the subsidies granted contingent on the delivery of climate-friendly environmental and system services.

The aim of this panel is to increase awareness among the political actors involved for the topic in general and the potential, but also the challenges associated with it, to put them in contact with important stakeholders, and to provide them with adequate information so that they will take an interest in further advancing the subject by initiating possible research or on-site implementation projects.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Backgroundinformation

Moderator

Jonas Aechtner is Advisor for Agricultural and Landscape Financing at WWF Germany, where he is responsible for their work with banks on deforestation-free and sustainability criteria, as well as developing sustainable business cases and bankable projects in the land-use sector, with a focus on smallholder agriculture. His regional focus is southeast Asia. Previously he has been working on responsible investment policy, sustainable land management and rural development in Asia, central, and south America. He holds a Master’s degree in International Development from Lund University Sweden.

Panel Guests

Rolf Sommer is director of the department of Agriculture and Land Use Change at WWF in Germany. Before joining WWF he was Principal Scientist at the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT) in Nairobi, Kenya.

 

Developing and finding sustainable management solutions addressing the complexity of achieving food and nutritional security, sustainable agricultural development, the conservation of nature, biodiversity and agro-ecosystem functioning has been at the core of Rolf’s work ever since. This includes protecting or rehabilitating soil fertility and health at field level, improving the livelihoods of smallholders through improved, competitive and eco-efficient productions systems at farm level, biodiversity, nature and landscape protection and rehabilitation at the watershed /regional level, and carbon sequestration and climate change mitigation at global scale.
Rolf holds a PhD in Agronomy and a MSc in Biology, and in the last 18 years have published over 50 peer-reviewed articles and numerous conference proceedings and online publications (see http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=tAIw8ykAAAAJ&hl=en).

Sigrid Griese studied organic agricultural sciences. She has been working in the Bioland research department since 2014 at the interface of accounting and agricultural practice with a focus on the topics of sustainability analysis and climate protection and adaptation. In this role, she leads and works on projects that deal with the assessment of environmental performance in agriculture. The project results are incorporated into advisory services, new policy instruments or concepts for trade. She also works as an advisor for climate and sustainability in the Bioland Association.

Malin Ahlberg is Deputy Head of the Division “European Climate and Energy Policy, European Climate Initiative, Carbon Markets”, at BMUV, transitioning to the new Ministry of economic affaires and climate action.

She has been working in the field of carbon market and carbon pricing for fifteen years. In the division she is responsible for the subject areas of carbon pricing and international market mechanisms. Malin is a director of the German Foundation “Future of the Carbon Market” which was established by the BMU in 2010. In addition, Malin is the German focal point for the Partnership for Market Implementation (PMI) of the World Bank and helped found the Carbon Market Platform in 2015. Before she started her carrier at the ministry, she worked as a scientific expert at the German Emissions Trading Authority commissioned research projects in the field of global carbon market issues. Malin is a degreed engineer of the technical university of Berlin.

Jan Köpper is heading the department on impact transparency & sustainability at GLS Bank Germany. In his role Jan is responsible for the conceptualization, coordination and implementation of societal impact measurement and management, the analysis and translation of sustainability risks, the sustainability assessments in corporate loan transactions as well as the integration of sustainability related processes in internal sustainability and bank management in the GLS Group. Following posts at the business network CSR Europe in Brussels and the sustainability rating agency imug/VE in Hanover he joined GLS Bank in April 2018 to start is current position.

Jan Köpper is founding director of the Peer School for Sustainable Development e.V. and chairman of Cluster e.V.. He has published numerous articles and media contributions. He also looks after the memberships of the GLS Forum for Sustainable Investments (FNG), B.A.U.M. e.V. and the United Nations Principles for Responsible Banking (UNPRB).

She is a senior technical specialist in IFAD leading knowledge work and project design and implementation support in key areas relate to natural resources management such as: strengthening local institutions for natural resources governance and management; vulnerability analysis and building and monitoring resilience capacities of rural households; and support for small-scale producers in transition to agroecology and sustainable food systems. Prior to joining IFAD she has worked for the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nation (FAO) supporting rural communities, CSOs and governments in the design and implementation of rural development and environmental projects.

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

Investitionen in gesunden Böden – Fluch und Segen der Privatsektorfinanzierung und CO2-Kompensation

WWF Deutschland

Zeit: Mittwoch, 26. Januar 2022, 08:00 – 09:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 09:00 – 09:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Zusammenfassung:
Gesunde Böden sind das Kapital unserer Landwirt:innen. Investitionen in gesunde Böden sind folglich Investitionen in die Zukunft. Der (Finanz-)Markt „C-Senke Boden“ boomt. Oft fehlt es jedoch an speziell zugeschnittenen Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten für eine Umstellung auf nachhaltige landwirtschaftliche Praktiken, die auch unsere Böden schonen und deren Fruchtbarkeit wiederherstellen und verbessern. Und dies, obwohl dies Klimawandel-Mitigation und -Adaption unterstützen kann und die Grundlage gesunder Lebensmittel ist. Wir wollen diskutieren was möglich ist, welche Ansätze und Initiativen es schon gibt, und wollen handfeste Antworten liefern, was von den entsprechenden Akteuren (Politik, Handel, Landwirtschaft, Finanzsektor) getan werden muss, um neue Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten auf- und umzusetzen.

Ein oft diskutierter Ansatz ist eine Teilfinanzierung aus Kohlenstoffzertifikaten, um den Mehrwert der Böden als Kohlenstoffsenke zu kapitalisieren. Daher werden wir auch das Thema Net-Zero und CO2-Kompensation kritisch beleuchten und Alternativen vorstellen.

Wir glauben: die reine Finanzierung klimafreundlicher Maßnahmen über privatwirtschaftliche Angebote kann nur eine Brückenlösung sein. Diese sind immer freiwillig und werden meist nur von einer vgl. kleinen Gruppe initiativer Betriebe genutzt. Wie in der Farm-to-Fork-Strategie beschrieben, braucht es für das Erreichen der europäischen Klimaziele Anreize aus der GAP und die von privaten Initiativen. Damit möglichst alle Betriebe erreicht werden, gibt es auch Potentiale in der Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik der EU (GAP) die Förderung auf klimafreundliche Umwelt- und Systemleistungen auszurichten.

Die politischen Teilnehmer sollen somit für das Thema, Potentiale aber auch Herausforderungen sensibilisiert werden, wichtige Akteure kennenlernen und mit informiertem Interesse das Thema durch mögliche Forschungs- oder auch Umsetzungsprojekte weiter anzustoßen, aus der Veranstaltung heraus gehen.

Hintergrundinformation

Moderator

Jonas Aechtner ist Berater für Finanzierung für Landwirtschaft und Landschaftsgestaltung beim WWF Deutschland. Er verantwortet dort die Projekte des WWF mit Banken zu Kriterien für ein entwaldungsfreies Bankwesen und Nachhaltigkeit sowie die Konzeption nachhaltiger Geschäftsmodelle und bankfähiger Projekte im Landnutzungssektor, mit besonderem Augenmerk auf kleinbäuerlicher Landwirtschaft. Sein regionaler Schwerpunkt liegt auf Südostasien. Zuvor befasste er sich mit verantwortlicher Investitionspolitik, nachhaltiger Landbewirtschaftung und ländlicher Entwicklung in Asien, Zentral- und Südamerika. Er hat einen Masterabschluss in International Development von der Universität Lund, Schweden.

Podiumsgäste

Rolf Sommer ist Direktor des Fachbereichs Landwirtschaft und Landnutzungswandel beim WWF Deutschland. Vor seiner Tätigkeit beim WWF war er leitender Wissenschaftler am Internationales Zentrum für tropische Landwirtschaft (CIAT – International Center for Tropical Agriculture) in Nairobi, Kenia.

Seitdem hat sich Rolf Sommer in seiner Arbeit der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Bewirtschaftungslösungen, die der Komplexität der Ernährungssicherung gerecht werden, sowie der nachhaltigen landwirtschaftlichen Entwicklung, dem Naturschutz, der biologischen Vielfalt und dem Funktionieren von Agro-Ökosystemen gewidmet. Dazu zählt auf Feldebene der Schutz und die Wiederherstellung der Bodenfruchtbarkeit und -gesundheit, auf Betriebsebene die Verbesserung der Lebensgrundlagen von Kleinerzeugern durch bessere, wettbewerbsfähige und ökoeffiziente Produktionssysteme, auf regionaler Ebene und auf der Ebene von Wassereinzugsgebieten der Schutz von Artenvielfalt, Natur und Landschaften sowie deren Wiederherstellung sowie auf globaler Ebene die Bindung von Kohlenstoff und Klimaschutz.

Rolf Sommer hat einen Ph.D. in Agronomie sowie einen M.Sc. in Biologie. In den letzten 18 Jahren hat er mehr als 50 durch Fachleute überprüfte Artikel und zahlreiche Beiträge in Kongressbänden sowie Online-Publikationen veröffentlicht (s. http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=tAIw8ykAAAAJ&hl=en).

Sigrid Griese hat ökologische Agrarwissenschaften studiert. Seit 2014 ist sie Teil der Bioland-Forschungsabteilung und arbeitet dort an der Schnittstelle zwischen der Buchhaltung und der landwirtschaftlichen Praxis. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf Fragen der Nachhaltigkeitsanalyse und des Klimaschutzes sowie der Anpassung an den Klimawandel. In dieser Rolle leitet und arbeitet sie an Projekten, die der Beurteilung der ökologischen Leistung in der Landwirtschaft dienen. Die Projektergebnisse werden in Beratungsdienstleistungen, neue politische Instrumente oder Handelskonzepte integriert. Sigrid Griese ist auch als Beraterin für Klima und Nachhaltigkeit im Bioland-Verband tätig.

Malin Ahlberg ist stellvertretende Referatsleiterin für EU-Klima- und Energiepolitik, Europäische Klimaschutzinitiative, Kohlenstoffmärkte beim BMU. Seit 15 Jahren arbeitet sie im Bereich Kohlenstoffmärkte und CO2-Bepreisung. Im Referat verantwortet sie die Themenfelder CO2-Bepreisung und internationale Marktmechanismen. Sie ist Direktorin der 2010 vom BMU ins Leben gerufenen, deutschen Stiftung „Zukunft des Kohlenstoffmarktes“. Darüber hinaus ist Malin Ahlberg die deutsche Kontaktperson für die Partnerschaft für Marktumsetzung (PMI) der Weltbank und hat an der Gründung der Carbon Market Platform im Jahr 2015 mitgewirkt. Vor ihrem Eintritt ins BMU war sie als wissenschaftliche Expertin in von der Deutschen Emissionshandelsstelle beauftragten Forschungsprojekten zu Fragen globaler Kohlenstoffmärkte tätig. Malin Ahlberg hat einen Ingenieursabschluss der Technischen Universität Berlin.
Jan Köpper leitet die Stabstelle für Wirkungstransparenz und Nachhaltigkeit bei der GLS Bank Deutschland. In dieser Rolle verantwortet er die Konzeption, Koordination und Umsetzung der gesellschaftlichen Wirkungsmessung, die Analyse und Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken, Nachhaltigkeitsprüfungen im Firmenkundengeschäft sowie die Integration von nachhaltigen Prozessen in das interne Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement und die Gesamtbanksteuerung. Bevor er im April 2018 in seiner jetzigen Rolle für die GLS Bank tätig wurde, war er bei dem Business-Netzwerk CSR Europe in Brüssel und der Nachhaltigkeits-Ratingagentur imug/VE in Hannover beschäftigt.

Jan Köpper ist Gründungsdirektor der Peer School for Sustainable Development e.V. und Vorstandsvorsitzender von Cluster e.V. Er hat zahlreiche Artikel und Beiträge veröffentlicht. Er ist zudem für die Mitgliedschaften beim GLS-Forum Nachhaltige Geldanlagen (FNG), B.A.U.M. e.V. und den Prinzipien für Verantwortliches Bankwesen der Vereinten Nationen (UNPRB) zuständig.

Rikke Olivera ist leitende Fachexpertin des IFAD für die Themen Wissensnetzwerke, Projektgestaltung und Umsetzungsunterstützung in mit dem Management natürlicher Ressourcen verknüpften Schlüsselbereichen, wie z. B.: Stärkung lokaler Institutionen für die Verwaltung und das Management natürlicher Ressourcen, Vulnerabilitätsanalysen und Aufbau und Überwachung der Kapazitäten zur Resilienz ländlicher Haushalte sowie Unterstützung von Kleinerzeugern bei der Bewältigung des Wandels hin zur landwirtschaftlichen Ökologie und zu nachhaltigen Nahrungsmittelsystemen. Vor Aufnahme ihrer Tätigkeit beim IFAD arbeitete sie für die Interamerikanische Entwicklungsbank (IADB) und die Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO) und unterstützte ländliche Gemeinschaften, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und Regierungen bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung von Projekten für ländliche Entwicklung und die Umwelt.

Seite empfehlen