From the sky down: Managing land use and soils towards net zero emissions

 

 

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Time: Tuesday, 25. January 2022, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 6:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Languages: English, German

Summary:
Achieving net-zero carbon emissions and limiting global temperature increases to 2oC this century will not be possible without augmenting the world’s terrestrial carbon sinks. Expert speakers offered different approaches to progress in this area, via peatland and wetland conservation, building soil carbon sequestration by greening the land, accelerate sustainable agricultural productivity growth to save land for forests and conservation, and revisiting policies to encourage farmers to move in this direction. The discussion that followed confronted the different strategies and discussed means to combine those and others to progress towards climate goals for the sector.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderator

Lini Wollenberg works on climate change and agriculture at the Alliance of Bioversity and CIAT and Gund Institute for Environment, University of Vermont.  From 2009 to 2021 she led the Low-Emission Development research theme for CCAFS, the CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security. Prior to that Lini worked with the Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR) based in Indonesia and with the Ford Foundation. She received her PhD in natural resource management from the University of California, Berkeley, USA.  Her expertise is in climate change mitigation, land use, and social inclusion.  She has worked primarily in Asia, especially Indonesian Borneo.

Panel Guests

Hans Joosten (1955) is Professor of Peatland Studies and Palaeoecology at Greifswald University (Germany), partner in the Greifswald Mire Centre, and Secretary-General of the International Mire Conservation Group (IMCG), the world organization of peatland conservationists.

His key research topics include paludiculture, on which he edited a handbook in 2016, and peatland restoration on which he edited an overview in 2016 for Cambridge University Press and produced global guidelines for the Ramsar Convention in 2021. For IMCG he produced the books ‘Wise use of mires and peatlands’ (2002) and ‘Mires and peatlands of Europe’ (2017).

Since 2009, Hans has been intensively involved in UNFCCC negotiations and IPCC guidance development, especially with respect to accounting for emissions from organic soils, and in FAO in advancing climate-responsible peatland management. Since 2017, he is steering committee member of the United Nations Global Peatlands Initiative.

Claire Chenu is research director at INRAE (French National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment) and consulting professor of soil science at AgroParisTech.
She is a member of the research unit ECOSYS at Grignon in Paris area. Her research deals with soil organic matter, which has a prominent role in ecosystem services provided by soils. She addresses the roles of soil organic matter in soil physical properties and investigates carbon dynamics and sequestration in agricultural soils. She was the 2019 Soil Science medallist of the European Geosciences Union and the recipient of the 2019 INRA Research Lifetime Achievement Award.
She is very involved in the science-policy-practice interface and in awareness raising activities on soils. She has been nominated Special Ambassador for 2015 the international year of soils by the FAO. She is member of several international committees, including being a member of the Scientific and Technical Committee of the 4 per 1000 initiative. She coordinates the EU H2020 European Joint Programme SOIL that associates 24 European countries: “Towards climate-smart sustainable management of agricultural soils”.

Keith Fuglie is a senior economist with the Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, where he conducts research on the economics of technological change and science policy for agriculture. While with the Federal Government, Keith spent 2019-20 with U.S. Agency for International Development’s Bureau of Food Security, and in 1997-98 served as senior staff economist for the White House Council of Economic Advisors. He was lead author of the 2019 World Bank report, Harvesting Prosperity: Technology and Productivity Growth in Agriculture, and of the 2012 volume, Productivity Growth in Agriculture: An International Perspective. In 2012 Keith was recognized with the USDA Secretary’s Honor Award for Professional Service, and in 2014 he received the Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis from the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association. Earlier in his career, Keith spent ten years with the International Potato Center (CIP) stationed in Indonesia and Tunisia, where he headed CIP’s social science research program and was regional representative for CIP in Asia. Keith received his M.S. and PhD in Agricultural and Applied Economics from the University of Minnesota.

Jonathan Brooks joined OECD in 1999 and is head of the Agriculture and Resource Policy Division in the OECD’s Trade and Agriculture Directorate, which produces the annual Agricultural Monitoring and Evaluation and biennial Review of Fisheries, and conducts analysis of how government policies can improve the productivity, sustainability and resilience of the agricultural sector. Before joining OECD in 1999, Jonathan was a Lecturer at the University of Reading. He has a Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics from the University of California, Davis, an M.S. in Economics from Purdue University, and a B.Sc. in Economics from the London School of Economics.

Impressionen

Recommend this webpage

Vom Himmel zur Erde: Land- und Bodenbewirtschaftungsmaßnahmen zur Erreichung der Emissionsfreiheit

 

 

Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD)

Zeit: Dienstag, 25. Januar 2022, 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 18:00 – 18:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Zusammenfassung:
Es wird in diesem Jahrhundert nicht möglich sein, Netto-Null-Kohlenstoffemissionen zu erreichen und den globalen Temperaturanstieg auf 2 °C zu begrenzen, ohne die terrestrischen Kohlenstoffsenken der Welt zu vergrößern. Die teilnehmenden Expertinnen und Experten skizzierten verschiedene Konzepte für eine Weiterentwicklung in diesem Bereich. Diese umfassten den Schutz von Mooren und Feuchtgebieten, die Förderung der Kohlenstoffspeicherung im Boden durch die Begrünung von Flächen, eine verstärkte nachhaltige Steigerung der landwirtschaftlichen Produktivität zur Bewahrung von Flächen für Wälder und für den Bodenschutz sowie die Neuausrichtung politischer Konzepte, um Landwirtinnen und Landwirte dazu anzuregen, sich in ihrer Entwicklung an diesen Zielen zu orientieren. In der anschließenden Diskussion wurden die unterschiedlichen Strategien gegenübergestellt und Wege erörtert, wie sie gemeinsam, auch zusammen mit anderen Strategien, für eine Entwicklung hin zur Erreichung der Klimaziele des Sektors genutzt werden können.

Aufzeichnung

Aktivierung erforderlich

Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass nach der Aktivierung Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die folgenden Lebensläufe zum Teil nur in Englisch vorliegen.

Moderator

Lini Wollenberg ist in den Bereichen Klimawandel und Landwirtschaft für die Alliance of Biodiversity, das International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT) sowie das Gund Institute for Environment an der University of Vermont, tätig.  Von 2009 bis 2021 leitete sie den Forschungsbereich „Schadstoffarme Entwicklung“ im Rahmen des CCAFS, das CGIAR-Forschungsprogramm zu Klimawandel, Landwirtschaft und Ernährungssicherheit. Davor arbeitete Lini beim Internationalen Forstforschungszentrum CIFOR mit Sitz in Indonesien und bei der Ford Foundation. Sie promovierte zum Thema Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen an der University of California in Berkeley in den USA.  Lini ist Expertin in den Themen Klimaschutz, Landnutzung und soziale Inklusion.  Sie hat vorrangig in Asien gearbeitet, insbesondere im indonesischen Teil Borneos.

Podiumsgäste

Hans Joosten (Jahrgang 1955) ist Professor für Moorkunde und Paläoökologie an der Universität Greifswald, Partner des Greifswald Moor Centrums, sowie Generalsekretär der International Mire Conservation Group (IMCG), der Weltorganisation der Naturschützer von Moorböden.

Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Paludikultur, über die er 2016 ein Handbuch veröffentlichte, sowie die Wiederherstellung von Moorböden, über die er 2016 für die Cambridge University Press eine Übersicht herausgab und im Jahr 2021 globale Leitlinien für die Ramsar-Konvention erstellte. Für die IMCG veröffentlichte er die Bücher „Wise use of mires and peatlands“ (2002) und „Mires and peatlands of Europe“ (2017).

Seit 2009 ist Hans intensiv an Verhandlungen über das Klimarahmenabkommen und der Entwicklung von Leitlinien für den Weltklimarat beteiligt gewesen, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Anrechnung von Emissionen aus organischen Böden, und hat sich bei der FAO für die Förderung einer klimaverträglichen Moorbewirtschaftung eingesetzt. Seit 2017 ist er Mitglied im Lenkungsausschuss der Global Peatlands Initiative der Vereinten Nationen.

Claire Chenu ist Forschungsdirektorin am INRAE (Nationales Forschungsinstitut für Landwirtschaft, Ernährung und Umwelt) und beratende Professorin für Bodenkunde am AgroParisTech. Sie ist Mitglied der Forschungseinheit ECOSYS in Grignon in der Region Paris. Ihre Forschung befasst sich mit der organischen Substanz im Boden, die eine wichtige Rolle bei den Ökosystemleistungen der Böden spielt. Sie befasst sich mit der Rolle der organischen Bodensubstanz für die physikalischen Eigenschaften des Bodens und untersucht die Kohlenstoffdynamik und -bindung in landwirtschaftlichen Böden. Sie wurde mit der Bodenwissenschaftsmedaille 2019 der Europäischen Vereinigung für Geowissenschaften ausgezeichnet und erhielt den INRA Preis für das Lebenswerk in der Forschung 2019. Sie engagiert sich sehr für die Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft, Politik und Praxis und für Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen zum Thema Boden. Sie wurde von der FAO zur Sonderbotschafterin für 2015, dem internationalen Jahr der Böden, ernannt. Sie ist Mitglied mehrerer internationaler Ausschüsse, darunter des wissenschaftlich-technischen Ausschusses der 4-Per-1000-Initiative. Sie koordiniert das gemeinsame EU-H2020-Programm SOIL, an dem 24 europäische Länder beteiligt sind: „Auf dem Weg zu einer klimagerechten, nachhaltigen Bewirtschaftung landwirtschaftlicher Böden“.

Keith Fuglie ist ein leitender Volkswirt beim Economic Research Service, der Dienststelle für Wirtschaftsforschung im US-amerikanischen Landwirtschaftsministerium. In dieser Funktion forscht er zu den wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen von technologischem Wandel und Wissenschaftspolitik auf die Landwirtschaft. Im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit für die Regierung gehörte er von 2019-20 dem Bureau for Resilience and Food Security (Zentralstelle für Resilienz und Ernährungssicherheit) der US-Behörde für internationale Entwicklung und von 1997-98 dem Council of Economic Advisors (Beratungsorgan zu Wirtschaftsfragen) des Weißen Hauses als leitender angestellter Ökonom an. Er war Erstautor des Weltbankberichts in 2019 mit dem Titel „Harvesting Prosperity: Technology and Productivity Growth in Agriculture“ sowie des Berichts in 2012 mit dem Titel „Productivity Growth in Agriculture: An International Perspective“. 2012 wurde Keith mit dem „Honor Award for Professional Service“ des US-Landwirtschaftsministeriums ausgezeichnet. 2014 wurde ihm der „Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for Applied Policy Analysis“ von der Agricultural & Applied Economics Association verliehen. In seiner früheren Laufbahn arbeitete Keith zehn Jahre lang für das International Potato Center (CIP) in Indonesien und Tunesien. Dort leitete er das sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsprogramm des CIP und war der Regionalvertreter der Organisation in Asien. Keith Fuglie hat seinen M.S. und Ph.D. in Agrarwissenschaften und angewandter Volkswirtschaftslehre an der University of Minnesota gemacht.

Jonathan Brooks kam 1999 zur OECD und ist dort Leiter des Referats für Landwirtschafts- und Ressourcenpolitik in der Abteilung „Handel und Landwirtschaft“, die die jährliche Überwachung und Bewertung der Landwirtschaft und die zweijährliche Überprüfung der Fischerei durchführt und untersucht, wie Regierungsstrategien die Produktivität, Nachhaltigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit des Agrarsektors verbessern können. Vor seiner Zeit bei der OECD ab 1999 hatte Jonathan einen Lehrauftrag an der University of Reading. Er hat an der University of California in Davis einen Ph.D. in Agrarökonomie gemacht, erhielt einen M.S. in Volkswirtschaftslehre von der Purdue University und einen B.Sc. in Volkswirtschaftslehre von der London School of Economics.

Impressionen

Seite empfehlen