Satellite-based protection of property, possessions and climate in East Africa

 

    

 

International Rural Development Aid (ILD) 
Catholic Rural People’s Movement in Germany (KLB)

Time: Tuesday, 25. January 2022, 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 2:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Languages: English, German

Summary:
A particular challenge for land and soil in developing countries is anthropogenic climate change as well as land grabbing by speculators and investors from outside. These are issues that threaten the very existence of the countries and have a particularly strong local impact at village level. Regional and national decision-making levels hardly address these problems and issues.

In Uganda, solution-oriented action is being taken to counteract the problems at all three levels (climate change mitigation, property protection and solution-oriented action at the levels of responsibility) by addressing both climate-smart farming and rights infringements against smallholder families through paralegals (trained legal advisors), awareness-building with the help of high-profile digital mapping and obtaining ownership status. Women-headed households are particularly affected.

Given that individual region-specific partner organisations would also be overwhelmed, ILD/KLB and their southern partners have opted for a nationwide network structure. Partners can thus be put in a position to promote joint interventions up to the national level. The objective is to close the gaps that exist in the implementation of national strategies and framework agreements between village level and both regional and national levels under the respective national regulatory framework (national land law as well as Nationally Determined Contribution, NDC). Systems of land use and ownership are mapped and documented.
Based on a short study we could show which intruments are necessary to empower the local communities, all this in accordance and with respect to the cultural conditions.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderator

Robert Tippmann (Managing Director, Climatekos gGmbH) has worked for more than 20 years in the field of environmental finance and low-carbon and climate-resilient development – including for a leading climate change services provider and previous assignments with international, bilateral and research organizations. Prior experiences include research assistance in the fields of economics and development as well as field work and field studies as part of first research, advisory and project assignments from 1996 to 2000. Robert worked for more than 9 years at climate change service provider EcoSecurities, a subsidiary of the financial services company J.P. Morgan at that time after being an Alternative Investment Market-listed company since 2005, most recently heading its consulting business. This includes his role as a Principal Advisor-Climate Investments to a the Global Mechanism of the UNCCD at the International Fund for Agriculture Development for over 4 years. He draws upon previous assignments with the UNFCCC secretariat, the GIZ, the Center for Development Research, the Rhineland Chamber of Agriculture and the Institute for Medium-Sized Businesses Research. He is co-founder of Climatekos, a climate action project and programme developer and environmental finance solutions and advisory services provider, and serves as Chairman of the German Emissions Trading Association (BVEK).

Panel Guests

Laura Bentz studies Geographical Development Studies at the Freie Universität of Berlin. She is currently writing her master’s thesis, which will examine sustainability standards and corporate commitments with regard to improving smallholder livelihoods in the context of climate change mitigation and adaptation measures under the guise of the concept of climate justice. She also works at Climatekos as a student employee with a focus on climate adaptation as well as mitigation strategies and their implementation in the context of smallholder livelihoods. She has already gained experience with supply chains and their impacts in the context of a short study on coffee and corresponding supply chains of German green coffee importers in East Africa. The focus here was on investigating impacts on land use and local livelihoods of smallholder farmers.

Hans GEISSLHOFER (Senior Expert, Space2Live, Caritas) is an “Diploma-Engineer in Regional Planning” Expert from Technical University in Vienna (1976)

He has worked for more than 40 years in Austrian and German Development Cooperation programs in Central and Western Africa, as well as an UNDP Associate Expert in Guinea Bissau, GIS-Mapping and Environment Management Expert in Mauritania, Sierra Leone, Romania and India for private Austrian and German companies or foundations.

From 1977 to 1979 he was in charge of regional planning courses in the Pan African Institute for Development in Douala, Cameroon.

From 1981 to 1986 he was project manager within the international association ENDA – Dakar for promotion of small-scale village technologies produced by local craftsmen.

From 1986 to 1990 he was co-founder and project manager in EWA                       (Entwicklungs-Werkstatt Austria) in Salzburg.

From 1990 to 1994 he was Coordinator for Austrian development projects in the Sahel Region based in Dakar, Senegal

Since 1995 to now, he worked as a free lance consultant for Western Africa, Southern India and Eastern Romania on water management and environment protection. From 20010 to 2011 he was in charge for event management and conferences on appropriate village water supply and climate change related conferences organized by MISEREOR all over Germany

He is retired since 2011 but engaged furthermore as short-term consultant for Senegal, Chad, Uganda and India for several German and Austrian organizations in environment protection and mapping training courses online or offline.  This includes also carbon stock measurements by GPS investigations and satellite photos imagery treatment for awareness raising about forest and wetlands protection in Africa.

Male aged 49. He is a Roman Catholic Priest Pursuing a PhD in Development Studies (Nkumba University, Uganda), has a Master’s Degree in Development Studies (UMU, Uganda), Master’s Degree in Divinity (USML, USA), Bachelors Degree in Theological Studies (USML, USA), Bachelors Degree in Social and Philosophical Studies (MUK, Uganda). He has 13 years of experience as the Director for Social Services Development Justice and Peace (Caritas) of The Registered Trustees of Kasana Luweero Diocese, serves on various Boards i.e. Chairman Centenary Bank-Wobulenzi Branch (DAC), Chairman Health Board-Kasana Luweero Diocese, Chairman Board-Bethany Land Institute (BLI), Chairman-KISA Cooperative Society, Diocesan Representative of Bishop Asili Hospital Board, Founder of COVE Alliance and Chaplain Kampala University Luweero Campus.

Betty Namagala is a female Ugandan aged 45 years and has worked with rural communities for 18 years at different levels and different positions i.e. as a Field staff, as a coordinator and as a programs officer. Ms. Betty has an education background of a Bachelor’s Degree in Development Studies and a Diploma in Agriculture and Animal Production. She has a long serving experience in coordination of sustainable Agriculture Programs/ livelihood program, Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation Programs, and Social Development Projects. Secondly she has great experience in participatory planning, monitoring and evaluation of community projects.
Since 2018 up to to date she is Deputy and Programs Officer of Caritas Kasanaensis
On management level, she is in charge of coordinating and supervising the institutional projects and programmes and ensures that all activities are following their time frames in accordance with the implementation plans. In addition, she is responsible for the reporting of the area supervisors to produce an institutional report. Likewise, she is responsible for organising and coordinating institutional events such as dialogues, annual general meetings and gatherings. On behalf of the Director of Caritas Kasanaensis, she represents the organisation to various national and international stakeholders.
On operational level she serves as a Project Manager for Global Climate Change Alliance Plus and Global Environment Facility projects coordinated by FAO. This EU and GEF funded initiatives in Uganda have the purpose of “Scaling up Agriculture Adaptation to Climate Change in Uganda while strengthening the inclusive, gender responsive and climate smart resilience of rural population’s agricultural production system in the cattle corridor” and “Integrating climate resilience into agricultural and pastoral production in Uganda, through a Farmer/Agro-pastoralist Field School Approach” respectively. She is also a member of two programme implementation consortia founded by the ILD, which coordinate countrywide interventions together with other non-profit organisations. On the one hand, they are steering village based climate change mitigation and adaptation initiatives, and on the other hand, they are establishing smallholder cooperatives to promote joint marketing and support peasant farmers in securing their land rights.
Before 2018 she worked in different positions within rural development like Assistant Programs Officer, Coordinator Nakaseke District and as Field Officer

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

Satellitengestützter Schutz von Eigentum, Besitz und Klima in Ostafrika

 

     

 

Internationaler Ländlicher Entwicklungsdienst (ILD)
Katholische Landvolkbewegung Deutschland (KLB)

Zeit: Dienstag, 25. Januar 2022, 13:00 – 14:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 14:00 – 14:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Zusammenfassung:
Eine besondere Herausforderung für Land und Boden in Entwicklungsländern ist der menschenverursachte Klimawandel ebenso sowie die Landnahme durch Spekulanten und Investoren von außen. Dies sind existenzbedrohende Themenkomplexe, die sich insbesondere lokal auf Dorfebene auswirken. Regionale und nationale Entscheidungsebenen widmen sich diesen Problemen und Fragestellungen kaum.

In Uganda wird mit lösungsorientiertem Handeln den Problemen auf allen drei Ebenen (Klimaschutz, Eigentumsschutz und lösungsorientiertes Handeln auf den Verantwortungsebenen) entgegengewirkt, indem sowohl eine klimagerechte Landwirtschaft (Climate Smart Agriculture), als auch rechtsverletzendes Vorgehen gegen Kleinbauernfamilien durch „Paralegals (geschulte Rechtsberater)“, Sensibilisierung mit Hilfe einer öffentlichkeitswirksamen, digitalen Kartierung und Erlangung des Besitzstatus adressiert werden. Insbesondere sind Frauen geführte Haushalte betroffen.

Da auch einzelne regionsspezifische Partnerorganisationen überfordert wären, haben ILD/KLB mit ihren Südpartnern eine landesweite Netzwerkstruktur gewählt. So können die Partner in die Position versetzet werden, gemeinsame Interventionen bis hin zur nationalen Ebene zu fördern. Ziel ist die Schließung der Lücken in der Umsetzung nationaler Strategien sowie Rahmenvereinbarungen zwischen Dorfebene und regionaler, sowie nationaler Ebene innerhalb des jeweiligen nationalen Rechtsrahmens (nationales Landrecht ebenso wie Nationally Determined Contribution, NDC). Nutzungsverhältnisse und der Besitzstand werden kartiert und dokumentiert.
Auf Basis einer Fallstudie konnten die Instrumente aufgezeigt werden, die notwendig sind, um die lokale Bevölkerung zu stärken. All dies unter Berücksichtigung und in Respekt zu den kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen.

Aufzeichnung

Aktivierung erforderlich

Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass nach der Aktivierung Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die folgenden Lebensläufe zum Teil nur in Englisch vorliegen.

Moderator

Robert Tippmann ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren im Bereich der Umweltfinanzierung und der kohlenstoffarmen und klimaresistenten Entwicklung tätig – unter anderem für einen führenden Dienstleister im Bereich des Klimawandels sowie für internationale und bilaterale Organisationen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Zu seinen früheren Erfahrungen gehören sowohl Forschungsassistenz in den Bereichen Wirtschaft und Entwicklung als auch Feldarbeit und Feldstudien im Rahmen erster Forschungs-, Beratungs- und Projektaufträge von 1996 bis 2000. Robert Tippmann arbeitete mehr als 9 Jahre bei dem Klimawandeldienstleister „EcoSecurities“, früher eine Tochtergesellschaft des Finanzdienstleisters J.P. Morgan, nachdem er seit 2005 an der Börse für alternative Anlagen gelistet war, und leitete zuletzt dessen Beratungsgeschäft. Dazu gehört auch seine Rolle als Hauptberater im Bereich „Klima Investitionen“ für den Globalen Mechanismus der UNCCD beim Internationalen Fonds für landwirtschaftliche Entwicklung, wo er über vier Jahre lang tätig war. Er kann auf frühere Tätigkeiten beim UNFCCC-Sekretariat, der GIZ, dem Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung, der Landwirtschaftskammer Rheinland und dem Institut für Mittelstandsforschung verweisen. Er ist Mitbegründer von Climatekos, einem Anbieter von Klimaschutzprojekten und -programmen sowie von Umweltfinanzierungslösungen und Beratungsdienstleistungen, und ist Vorsitzender des Bundesverbands Emissionshandel (BVEK).

Podiumsgäste

Laura Bentz studiert Geographische Entwicklungsforschung an der Freien Universität Berlin. Derzeit schreibt sie ihre Masterarbeit, in der sie Nachhaltigkeitsstandards und Unternehmensverpflichtungen im Hinblick auf die Verbesserung kleinbäuerlicher Lebensgrundlagen im Kontext von Klimaschutz- und Anpassungsmaßnahmen unter dem Leitbild der Klimagerechtigkeit untersucht. Außerdem arbeitet sie bei Climatekos als Studentische Mitarbeiterin mit den Schwerpunkten Klimaanpassung sowie Minderungsstrategien und deren Umsetzung im Kontext kleinbäuerlicher Lebensgrundlagen. Erfahrungen mit Lieferketten und deren Auswirkungen hat sie bereits im Rahmen einer Kurzstudie zu Kaffee und entsprechenden Lieferketten deutscher Rohkaffeeimporteure in Ostafrika gesammelt. Der Fokus lag dabei auf der Untersuchung der Auswirkungen auf die Landnutzung und die lokalen Lebensgrundlagen von Kleinbauern.

Hans Geisslhofer ist ein „Diplom-Ingenieur für Raumplanung“ Experte der Technischen Universität in Wien (1976). Er arbeitet seit mehr als 40 Jahren in Programmen der österreichischen und deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in Zentral- und Westafrika, sowie als UNDP „Assoziierter Sachverständiger“ in Guinea Bissau, als GIS-Kartierungs- und Umweltmanagementexperte in Mauretanien, Sierra Leone, Rumänien und Indien für private österreichische und deutsche Unternehmen oder Stiftungen. Von 1977 bis 1979 war er verantwortlich für regionale Planungskurse im Panafrikanischen Institut für Entwicklung in Douala, Kamerun. Von 1981 bis 1986 war er Projektleiter bei der internationalen Vereinigung ENDA – Dakar zur Förderung von kleinen durch lokale Handwerker hergestellte Dorftechnologien. Von 1986 bis 1990 war er Mitbegründer und Projektleiter der EWA (Entwicklungs-Werkstatt Austria) in Salzburg. Zwischen 1990 und 1994 war er Koordinator für österreichische Entwicklungsprojekte in der Sahelzone mit Sitz in Dakar, Senegal. Seit 1995 arbeitet er als freiberuflicher Berater für Westafrika, Südindien und Ostrumänien im Bereich Wassermanagement und Umweltschutz. Von 2010 bis 2011 war er verantwortlich für das Veranstaltungsmanagement und die Durchführung von Konferenzen zur angemessenen Wasserversorgung in Dörfern und zum Klimawandel, die von MISEREOR in ganz Deutschland organisiert wurden. Seit 2011 ist er im Ruhestand, engagiert sich aber weiterhin als Kurzzeitberater im Senegal, Tschad, Uganda und Indien für verschiedene deutsche und österreichische Organisationen in Umweltschutz- und Kartierungsschulungen online oder offline.  Dazu gehören auch Kohlenstoffbestandsmessungen durch GPS-Untersuchungen und die Aufbereitung von Satellitenbildern zur Bewusstseinsbildung für den Schutz von Wäldern und Feuchtgebieten in Afrika.

Hilary Muheezangango ist ein 49-jähriger römisch-katholischer Priester. Er promovierte im Bereich Entwicklungsstudien (Nkumba University, Uganda), hat sowohl einen Master-Abschluss in Entwicklungsstudien (UMU, Uganda) als auch einen Master-Abschluss in Theologie (USML, USA), sowie einen Bachelor-Abschluss in „Sozialen und Philosophischen Studien“ (MUK, Uganda). Er verfügt über 13 Jahre Erfahrung als Direktor für Sozialwesen, Entwicklung, Gerechtigkeit und Frieden (Caritas) der registrierten Treuhänder der Diözese Kasana Luweero. Hilary Muheezangango ist Mitglied in verschiedenen Gremien, z. B. als Vorsitzender der „Centenary Bank“ – Zweigstelle Wobulenzi (DAC), als Vorsitzender des Gesundheitsausschusses der Diözese Kasana Luweero, als Vorsitzender des Vorstands des „Bethany Land Institute“ (BLI), als Vorsitzender der KISA Genossenschaft, als Vertreter der Diözese im Vorstand des Bischof Asili Krankenhauses, als Gründer des COVE Bündnisses und als Kaplan an der „Kampala University Luweero Campus“.

Betty Namagala ist eine 45-jährige Uganderin und arbeitet seit 18 Jahren mit ländlichen Gemeinden auf verschiedenen Ebenen und in verschiedenen Positionen, z. B. als Außendienstmitarbeiterin, als Koordinatorin und als Programmbeauftragte. Frau Namagala verfügt über einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Entwicklungsstudien und ein Diplom in Landwirtschaft und Tierproduktion. Sie verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Koordinierung von nachhaltigen Landwirtschaftsprogrammen / Programmen zur Sicherung des Lebensunterhalts, Programmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel und dessen Eindämmung, sowie sozialen Entwicklungsprojekten. Außerdem hat sie große Erfahrung in der partizipativen Planung, Überwachung und Evaluierung von Gemeinschaftsprojekten. 

Seit 2018 ist sie Stellvertreterin und Programmbeauftragte der Caritas Kasanaensis. 

Auf der Managementebene ist sie für die Koordinierung und Überwachung der institutionellen Projekte und Programme zuständig und stellt sicher, dass alle Aktivitäten in Übereinstimmung mit den Umsetzungsplänen zeitlich eingehalten werden. Darüber hinaus ist sie für die Berichterstattung der Gebietsleiter:innen verantwortlich, um einen institutionellen Bericht zu erstellen. Ebenso ist sie für die Organisation und Koordination von institutionellen Veranstaltungen wie Dialogen, Jahresgeneralversammlungen und Treffen zuständig. Im Namen des Direktors der Caritas Kasanaensis vertritt sie die Organisation verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Stakeholder gegenüber.  

Auf der operativen Ebene ist sie als Projektmanagerin für die Projekte der Globalen Allianz für den Klimaschutz+ (GCCA+) sowie der Globalen Umweltfazilität (GEF) tätig, welche von der FAO koordiniert wird. Diese von der EU und der GEF finanzierten Initiativen in Uganda haben zum Ziel, die “Anpassung der Landwirtschaft an den Klimawandel in Uganda voranzutreiben und gleichzeitig die inklusive, geschlechtergerechte und klimasmarte Widerstandsfähigkeit des landwirtschaftlichen Produktionssystems der ländlichen Bevölkerung im Rinderkorridor (“Cattle Corridor”) zu stärken” sowie “Die Klimaresilienz in die land- und viehwirtschaftliche Produktion in Uganda durch den bäuerlichen/ agropastoralen Field School-Ansatz zu integrieren”. Sie ist auch Mitglied zweier vom ILD gegründeter Konsortien zur Programmdurchführung, die gemeinsam mit anderen gemeinnützigen Organisationen landesweite Maßnahmen koordinieren. Einerseits steuern sie dorfbasierte Initiativen zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels und zur Anpassung daran, andererseits bauen sie Kleinbauernkooperativen auf, um die gemeinsame Vermarktung zu fördern sowie Bauern und Bäuerinnen bei der Sicherung ihrer Landrechte zu unterstützen. 

Vor 2018 war sie in verschiedenen Positionen im Bereich ländliche Entwicklung tätig, unter anderem als Assistant Programs Officer, Koordinatorin von Nakaseke District und als Field Officer. 

Impressionen

Seite empfehlen