The bigger the better? The consequences of land investments for land rights, soils and food sovereignty

 

           

 

          

 

Forum on Environment and Development
INKOTA-netzwerk
MISEREOR
Bread for the World
FIAN Germany

Time: Wednesday, 26. January 2022, 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 6:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Languages: English, German, Portuguese

Summary:
First, Michael Fakhri outlined in a video message: large-scale land grabs by investors often lead to the displacement of small-scale farming structures, hunger and the supremacy of an industrial agriculture that endangers the environment and health. He pleaded for multilateral solution processes, such as the VGGT, which are based on consensus-oriented development approaches with local communities and the right to food. Sabine Dorlöchter-Sulser then illustrated that large-scale agriculture in Africa neither closes the yield gap nor delivers on employment promises. Maureen Santos used the example of Brazil to show how the cycle of devastation by pesticides is reinforced as a result of state and international investments in large-scale land grabbing. Johannes Kotschi then drew attention to the increased use of mineral fertilizers as investments in land increase, and the associated negative impacts on soils, the environment and the climate. Drawing on his experiences in Mozambique, Luìs Muchanga emphasized that the model of land expropriation for commodities is not suitable for food security and reported on the positive effects of agroecology. Finally, all panelists agreed on the need to stop these land grabs and to implement concrete transformation strategies to support smallholder producers and to strengthen agroecological approaches at national and international level.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderators

Josephine Koch is a policy officer for resource policy in the German NGO umbrella organization Forum on Environment and Development. The focus of her work is raw material transparency and resource transition. She is also responsible for the working group for Agriculture and Food within the Forum. She was previously a project coordinator in various socio-ecological organizations and initiatives.

Lena Bassermann has been working with the INKOTA-netzwerk as a senior policy advisor for global food and global agriculture since 2019. Previously, she worked as a policy advisor at Welthungerhilfe and in the German Bundestag / German parliament. Her work focuses on agroecology, just food systems and farmers’ rights.

Video message

Michael Fakhri is the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food. He is also an Associate Professor at the University of Oregon School of Law.

Panel Guests

Luís Muchanga has been director of the Mozambican farmers’ association União Nacional de Camponeses (UNAC) since 2011. Previously, he was responsible for UNAC’s Lobby & Advocacy work. He studied economics in Maputo and considers himself a social activist.

Dr Sabine Dorlöchter-Sulser is a Rural Development Officer at MISEREOR (Africa/Middle East Department), has been working on rural development issues in sub-Saharan Africa for over 30 years, including 10 years in Mali, Burkina Faso and Niger. Thematic areas: agroecology, farmer-led research, farmers’ seed systems, land rights, nutrition, among others.

Johannes Kotschi is an agricultural scientist and advisor in rural development. He advises governmental and non-governmental as well as international organisations. His focus is on issues of sustainable and organic agriculture. Soil fertility management and agrobiodiversity development in the Global South are main areas of expertise. Johannes Kotschi has a PhD in agroecology and organic agriculture, is a founding member of Agrecol, the Association for AgriCulture and Ecology and lives in Marburg, Germany.

Maureen Santos, Coordinator of the National Advisory Group of the Federation of Organizations for Social and Educational Assistance (FASE), is a professor of the International Relations Department at the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro and a former program coordinator in the Heinrich Böll Foundation’s Rio de Janeiro office. She graduated in International Relations and is a master in Political Science from the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ). Maureen Santors monitors the UNFCCC climate negotiations on behalf of Brazilian civil society organizations since 2008, especially, forests and agriculture issues.

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

The bigger the better? Die Folgen von Landinvestitionen für Landrechte, Böden und Ernährungssouveränität

 

          

 

          

 

Forum Umwelt und Entwicklung
INKOTA Netzwerk
MISEREOR
Brot für die Welt
FIAN Deutschland

Zeit: Mittwoch, 26. Januar 2022, 17:00 – 18:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 18:00 – 18:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch, Portugiesisch

Zusammenfassung:
Zunächst umriss Michael Fakhri in einer Videomessage die Grundproblematik: großflächige Landnahmen durch InvestorInnen führten häufig zur Verdrängung kleinbäuerlicher Strukturen, lokalen Hungerkrisen und der Übermacht einer umwelt- und gesundheitsgefährdenden industriellen Landwirtschaft. Er plädierte für multilaterale Lösungsprozesse, wie die UN “Tenure Guidelines”, die auf konsensbasierten Entwicklungsansätzen mit lokalen Gemeinden und dem Recht auf Nahrung fußen. Im Anschluss verdeutlichte Sabine Dorlöchter-Sulser, dass großflächige Landwirtschaft in Afrika weder die Ertragslücke schließt, noch Beschäftigungsversprechen einhält. Maureen Santos zeigte zudem am Beispiel Brasiliens auf, wie der Kreislauf der Verwüstung durch Pestizide infolge staatlicher und internationaler Investitionen in das großflächige Landgrabbing gefördert wird. Johannes Kotschi lenkte das Augenmerk sodann auf die vermehrte Verwendung von Mineraldünger bei zunehmenden Investitionen in Land und damit einhergehende negative Auswirkungen auf Böden, Umwelt und Klima. Mit Blick auf seine Erfahrungen aus Mosambik unterstrich Luìs Muchanga, dass das Modell der Landenteignung für Commodities nicht zur Ernährungssicherung taugt und berichtete von den positiven Effekten von Agrarökologie. Einig waren sich alle PanelistInnen schließlich in der Forderung nach dem Stopp dieser Landnahmen und konkreten Transformationsstrategien zur Unterstützung kleinbäuerlicher ErzeugerInnen sowie der Stärkung agrarökologischer Ansätze auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene.

Aufzeichnung

Aktivierung erforderlich

Wir möchten Sie darauf hinweisen, dass nach der Aktivierung Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden.

Moderatorinnen

Josephine Koch ist Referentin für Ressourcenpolitik in dem NGO-Verband Forum Umwelt und Entwicklung. Der Fokus ihrer Arbeit liegt auf den Themen Rohstofftransparenz und Ressourcenwende. In ihre Zuständigkeit fällt zudem die Arbeitsgruppe Landwirtschaft und Ernährung im Forum. Sie war zuvor Projektkoordinatorin in verschiedenen sozial-ökologischen Organisationen und Initiativen.

Lena Bassermann arbeitet seit 2019 beim INKOTA-netzwerk e.V. als Referentin für Welternährung und globale Landwirtschaft, zuvor war sie als Referentin bei der Welthungerhilfe und im Deutschen Bundestag tätig. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Agrarökologie, gerechte Ernährungssysteme und bäuerliche Rechte. Sie ist außerdem Mitglied des Beirats für die ökologischen Wissenszentren des BMZ.

Videobotschaft

Michael Fakhri ist Sonderbeauftragter der Vereinten Nationen für das Recht auf Nahrung und Professor an der University of Oregon School of Law.

Podiumsgäste

Luís Muchanga ist seit 2011 Direktor des mosambikanischen Bauernverbands União Nacional de Camponeses (UNAC). Zuvor war er für den Bereich Lobby & Advocacy von UNAC verantwortlich. Er hat Wirtschaftswissenschaften in Maputo studiert und versteht sich als sozialer Aktivist.

Dr. Sabine Dorlöchter-Sulser ist Referentin für ländliche Entwicklung bei MISEREOR (Abteilung Afrika/Naher Osten), arbeitet seit über 30 Jahren zu Fragen der ländlichen Entwicklung in Subsahara Afrika, davon 10 Jahre in Mali, Burkina Faso und Niger. Themenfelder: u.a. Agrarökologie, Agrarforschung durch und mit Bäuerinnen und Bauern, bäuerliche Saatgutsysteme, Landrechte, Ernährung.

Johannes Kotschi ist Agrarwissenschaftler und Berater in der ländlichen Entwicklung. Er berät staatliche und nicht-staatliche, sowie internationale Organisationen in der ländlichen Entwicklung. Fragen nachhaltiger und ökologischer Landwirtschaft stehen im Fokus. Die Steigerung der Bodenfruchtbarkeit und die Stärkung der Agrobiodiversität im Globalen Süden bilden dabei fachliche Schwerpunkte. Johannes Kotschi hat zu Fragen der Agrarökologie und des Ökolandbaus promoviert, ist Gründungsmitglied des Vereins Agrecol, Association for AgriCulture and Ecology und lebt in Marburg.

Maureen Santos ist Koordinatorin der nationalen Beratungsgruppe der brasilianischen Nichtregierungsorganisation Federação de Órgãos para Assistência Social e Educacional (FASE). Sie ist zudem Professorin der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen der Päpstlichen Katholischen Universität Rio de Janeiro und ehemalige Programmkoordinatorin der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Büro in Rio de Janeiro. Sie hat einen Abschluss in Internationalen Beziehungen und einen Master in Politikwissenschaft der Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ). Maureen Santos beobachtet seit 2008 die UNFCCC-Klimaverhandlungen im Auftrag brasilianischer zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen, insbesondere in Wald- und Landwirtschaftsfragen.

Impressionen

Seite empfehlen