Sustainable agriculture improving soil governance

 

 

 

Embrapa Soils – Rio de Janeiro/Brazil

Time: Thursday, 27. January 2022, 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 4:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Languages: English, German

Summary:
Soil is the support of life – it houses about 25% of the planet’s biodiversity. Soils also play a key role in water cycle regulation, nutrients recycling and carbon sequestration. These soil-based ecosystem services are the base for agriculture and food production – it is estimated that 98.8% of the daily calories consumed by humans come from soil [1]. However, estimates indicate that up to half of the fertile soils of the planet might have been lost in the last 150 years [2]. Thus, sustainable agriculture is a key element to change this scenario. Programs and projects that promote agriculture sustainability are important to offer new perspectives for soil conservation and contribute to soil governance. There is a need for understanding how agricultural transitions are being governed through a variety of actors and at several levels. This session is diverse and inclusive, connecting the different sectors. It aims to contribute to move forward on this debate by presenting a multi-level perspective on soil governance and real cases to encourage effective actions for soil sustainable use worldwide. The invited panelists bring a substantial wealth of experience and will present international guidelines, national policies, programs, and interaction with the private sector, highlighting the importance of these initiatives towards an effective soil governance.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderators

Ana Paula Turetta is a Geographer and completed her master (2000) and doctorate (2004) degrees in Agronomy, with a focus on Soil Science, through the Federal Rural University of Rio de Janeiro.

Since 2006, she has been a researcher at Embrapa Solos – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. She has extensive experience in the environmental field, especially in the interface between soil and rural landscapes. Her research lines include assessing the sustainability of rural landscapes and food systems, with an emphasis on soil ecosystem services and their connections to agriculture multifunctionality.

Currently, she is the head of two projects: one that evaluates the agriculture potential to contribute, in addition to food security, to water and energy security (water-energy-food Nexus); and the second one about the role of agriculture multifunctionality in natural disaster risks mitigation.

She also has extensive international experience, either collaborating with and/or leading international projects, as well as in experiences abroad, with a post-doctorate in the soil quality department at the University of Wageningen (Netherlands – 2014) and as a visiting researcher for 22 months at the Leibniz Center for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF) in Germany (2019/2020).

She is a professor in the Territorial Development Master’s Program at UFRRJ, where she teaches the subject “Policies and environmental management”.

She is responsible for the Brazilian chapter of the Ecosystem Services Partnership – ESP (https://www.es-partnership.org/community/regional-chapters/south-america/985-2/) and the elected Latin America representative of the ESP steering committee.

Stefan Sieber is an Associate Professor (PD, Privatdozent) at Humboldt University zu Berlin and concurrently he coordinates the department SusLAND “Sustainable Land Use in Developing Countries” at the Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF). His domains are food security and nutrition, climate change and bioenergy. He focuses on inter- and transdisciplinary research methods such as co-design of innovation, policy and governance analysis. Beyond, he applied sector modelling approaches and further developed impact assessment methods in Europe, Latin America and Sub-Saharan Africa. He (co-)coordinated 37 international research projects, authored/co-authored 173 peer-reviewed publications as well as more than 100 conference contributions.

Panel Guests

Edmundo Barrios is an Agricultural Officer at the Plant Production and Protection Division of FAO. He provides technical and policy-related advice on ecosystem management, soil health & biodiversity that supports agroecological transitions to sustainable food and agricultural systems. A soil ecologist with more than 20 years of research for development experience with the CGIAR based in Latin America and Africa, he investigated the linkages between soil health, biodiversity and productivity in agricultural systems. He led the FAO Agroecology team in the development of the ‘The 10 Elements of Agroecology: Guiding the transition to sustainable food and agricultural systems’ publication released during the 2nd International Symposium on Agroecology held in Rome at FAO-HQ in April 2018 and a recent review publication on enabling agroecological transitions. He was a member of the editorial board of ‘The State of Knowledge of Soil Biodiversity: Status, challenges and Potentialities – Report 2020’ and of the scientific committee of ‘Recarbonizing global soils : A technical manual of recommended management practices’ published in 2021, and is a member of the Global Soil Partnership Secretariat hosted at FAO.

Actually Head of Embrapa Soils – Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation. Bachelor’s at Agronomia from Universidade Estadual do Maranhão (1986), master’s at Troisième Cycle en Sciences de L’Environnement from Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1995), master’s at Agronomy from Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro (1990) and doctorate at Doctorat ès Sciences Pédologie et Géomatique from École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1999). Has experience in Agronomy, focusing on Genesis, Morphology and Classification of Soil, acting on the following subjects: solos, digital soil mapping, gis, mapeamento digital de solos and banco de dados. Embrapa representative in several national and international forums on Soils and participated from 2013 to 2018, in two terms, “Intergovernmental Technical Panel on Soil, ITPS, of the GSP (Global Soil Partnership) of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Dr. Anneke Trux is currently Head of GIZ’s “Global Programme Protection and rehabilitation of soils for food security (ProSoil)”.

Until January 2018 she has been Head of Unit for Sectoral and Management training within GIZ’s Academy for International Cooperation. Before, she has been the team leader of NRM and rural development projects and programmes of the German Development Cooperation.

She has been working for GIZ since 1991 and a has long term working experience in Sub-Saharan Africa, the Mediterranean and Central Asia.

Being a co-author of Germany’s very first report on climate change to the German Parliament in 1988, the linkage between climate change, soils and human life has been a challenge to her throughout her professional career.

She has been working at local, national, and international level. Climate change, environmental policy, rural development, human capacity building, leadership and management and organisational development are key areas of her expertise.

Dr Trux is biologist and obtained her doctoral degree from the Friedrichs-Wilhelms-Universität in Bonn.

Christian Lohbauer, 54, holds a PhD in Political Science from the University of São Paulo, Brazil. Studied from 1994 to 1997 at the University of Bonn, Germany, with a scholarship from the Konrad Adenauer Foundation. He was International Relations Manager of the Federation of Industries of the State of São Paulo – FIESP (2001-2004), Deputy Secretary of International Relations of the Municipality of São Paulo (2005), Executive Director of the Brazilian Poultry Exporters Association – ABEF (2006-2009), Executive President of the Brazilian Association of Citrus Exporters – CitrusBR (2009-2013) and head of Corporate Affairs at Bayer Brazil (2013-2018). He is Executive President of CropLife Brasil, Director of the Agriculture Council of the São Paulo Federation of Industries (COSAG/Fiesp) since 2006 and member of the International Analysis Group of the University of São Paulo (GACINT/IRI/USP) since 1999.

Recommend this webpage

Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft zur Verbesserung der Bodenbewirtschaftung

 

 

 

Embrapa Soils – Rio de Janeiro/Brasilien

Zeit: Donnerstag, 27. Januar 2022, 15:00 – 16:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 16:00 – 16:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch

Zusammenfassung:
Böden sind die Grundlage für Leben: sie beherbergen ungefähr 25% der biologischen Vielfalt unseres Planeten. Böden spielen außerdem eine wichtige Rolle für die Regulierung des Wasserkreislaufs, die Nährstoffrückführung und die Kohlenstoffbindung. Diese bodenbasierten Leistungen des Ökosystems bilden die Grundlage für Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelproduktion – Schätzungen zufolge kommen 98,8% der von Menschen täglich zugeführten Kalorien aus dem Boden [1]. Es wird jedoch auch geschätzt, dass bis zur Hälfte der fruchtbaren Böden dieses Planeten wahrscheinlich in den letzten 150 Jahren verloren gegangen sind [2].

Daher ist nachhaltige Landwirtschaft ein Schlüsselelement, um eine Kehrtwende herbeizuführen. Programme und Projekte, die Nachhaltigkeit in der Landwirtschaft fördern, sind wichtig, um neue Perspektiven für den Bodenschutz aufzuzeigen und einen Beitrag zur Bodenbewirtschaftung zu leisten. Es ist notwendig zu verstehen, wie der Wandel in der Landwirtschaft durch eine Vielzahl von Akteuren und auf mehreren Ebenen gesteuert wird.

Das Fachpodium ist vielfältig und inklusiv und verbindet die verschiedenen Sektoren. Es soll dazu beitragen, diese Debatte voranzubringen, indem Bodenpolitik aus unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen und Fälle aus dem echten Leben vorgestellt werden, um wirksame Maßnahmen für eine nachhaltige Bodennutzung weltweit zu fördern. Die geladenen Gäste verfügen über einen umfassenden Erfahrungsschatz und werden internationale Leitlinien, nationale politische Maßnahmen, Programme und Kooperationen mit der Privatwirtschaft vorstellen und die Bedeutung dieser Initiativen für eine effektive Bodenbewirtschaftung unterstreichen.

Moderatoren

Ana Paula Turetta ist Geografin und hat ihren Masterabschluss (2000) und Doktortitel (2004) in Agrarwissenschaften mit dem Schwerpunkt Bodenkunde an der Federal Rural University in Rio de Janeiro erworben.

Seit 2006 arbeitet sie als Forscherin bei Embrapa Solos in Rio de Janeiro, Brasilien. Sie verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen im Umweltbereich, insbesondere an der Schnittstelle zwischen Böden und ländlichen Landschaften. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehört die Bewertung der Nachhaltigkeit von ländlichen Landschaften und Nahrungsmittelsystemen, wobei der Fokus auf den Ökosystemleistungen der Böden und deren Verbindungen zur Multifunktionalität der Landwirtschaft liegt.

Zurzeit leitet sie zwei Projekte: eines zur Bewertung des Potenzials der Landwirtschaft, neben der Ernährungssicherheit, auch zur Sicherheit der Wasser- und Energieversorgung beizutragen (Wasser-Energie-Nahrung-Nexus), und das zweite zur Rolle der Multifunktionalität der Landwirtschaft bei der Minderung der Risiken von Naturkatastrophen.

Ferner verfügt sie über umfangreiche internationale Erfahrungen entweder in der Zusammenarbeit mit bzw. auch Leitung von internationalen Projekten. Zu ihren Auslandserfahrungen gehören ein Post-Doktorat in der Abteilung für Bodenqualität an der Universität von Wageningen (Niederlande – 2014) und 22 Monate als Gastwissenschaftlerin am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF) in Deutschland (2019/2020).

Sie ist Professorin im Masterstudiengang Territoriale Entwicklung an der UFRRJ, wo sie das Fach „Politik und Umweltmanagement“ lehrt.

Sie ist zuständig für die brasilianische Sektion der Ecosystem Services Partnership – ESP (https://www.es-partnership.org/community/regional-chapters/south-america/985-2/). Sie ist die gewählte Vertreterin von Lateinamerika im ESP-Lenkungsausschuss.

 

 

Stefan Sieber ist Privatdozent an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin und koordiniert gleichzeitig die Arbeitsgruppe SusLAND „Nachhaltige. Landnutzung in Entwicklungsländern“ am Leibniz-Zentrum für Agrarlandschaftsforschung (ZALF). Zu seinen Arbeitsbereichen gehören die Ernährungssicherheit und Ernährung, Klimawandel und Bioenergie. Er konzentriert sich auf inter- und transdisziplinäre Forschungsmethoden wie Mitgestaltung von Analysen in den Bereichen Innovation, Politik und Governance. Ferner wandte er sektorale Modellierungsansätze an und entwickelte Methoden zur Folgenabschätzung in Europa, Lateinamerika und Afrika südlich der Sahara weiter. Er hat 37 internationale Forschungsprojekte mitkoordiniert bzw. koordiniert und 173 fachlektorierte Veröffentlichungen sowie mehr als 100 Konferenzbeiträge verfasst bzw. mitverfasst.

Podiumsgäste

Edmundo Barrios ist Agrarreferent in der FAO-Abteilung für Pflanzenproduktion und -schutz. Er bietet technische und politische Beratung in den Bereichen Bewirtschaftung der Ökosysteme, Bodengesundheit und Biodiversität, die den agrarökologischen Wandel hin zu nachhaltigen Nahrungsmittel- und Agrarsystemen unterstützen. Als Bodenökologe mit mehr als zwanzigjähriger Erfahrung in der Forschung im Dienste der Entwicklung bei der CGIAR in Lateinamerika und Afrika, betrieb er Forschung zu den Zusammenhängen zwischen Bodengesundheit, Biodiversität und Produktivität in landwirtschaftlichen Systemen. Er leitete das Agrarökologie-Team der FAO bei der Ausarbeitung der Publikation ‘The 10 Elements of Agroecology: Guiding the transition to sustainable food and agricultural systems’ (10 Elemente der Agrarökologie: Leitfaden für den Übergang zu nachhaltigen Nahrungsmittel- und Agrarsystemen), die während des zweiten internationalen Symposiums für Agrarökologie im April 2018 in Rom am FAO-Hauptsitz veröffentlicht wurden, sowie bei einer kürzlich veröffentlichten ʻReview publication on enabling agroecological transitions’ (Review-Publikation zur Ermöglichung agrarökologischer Übergänge). Er war Mitglied des Redaktionsausschusses des Berichts ‘The State of Knowledge of Soil Biodiversity:Status, challenges and Potentialities – Report 2020’ (Kenntnisstand zur Biodiversität in Böden: Status, Herausforderungen und Potenziale – Bericht 2020) sowie des wissenschaftlichen Ausschusses vom 2021 veröffentlichten Handbuch ‘Recarbonizing global soils: A technical manual of recommended management practices’ (Rekarbonisierung globaler Böden: ein technisches Handbuch empfohlener Bewirtschaftungspraktiken), und gehört dem Sekretariat der Global Soil Partnership (Globale Bodenpartnerschaft) mit Sitz bei der FAO an.

Zurzeit Leiterin von Embrapa Soils – Brasilianische Gesellschaft für landwirtschaftliche Forschung. Zu ihren akademischen Titeln zählen ein Bachelorabschluss in Agrarwissenschaften an der Universidade Estadual do Maranhão (1986), ein Masterabschluss in Umweltwissenschaften an der Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1995), ein Masterabschluss in Agrarwissenschaften an der Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro (1990) sowie ein Doktortitel in Bodenkunde und Geomatik an der École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1999). Sie verfügt über Erfahrung in Agrarwissenschaften mit den Schwerpunkten Genese, Morphologie und Klassifizierung von Böden und befasst sich mit den folgenden Themen: Böden, digitale Bodenkartierung, GIS und Datenbanken. Sie ist Vertreterin von Embrapa in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Foren zu Böden und nahm von 2013 bis 2018 in zwei Amtszeiten am Intergovernmental Technical Panel on Soil, ITPS, der Globalen Bodenpartnerschaft (GSP) der Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen teil.

Dr. Anneke Trux ist zurzeit Leiterin des GIZ-Globalprogramms „Schutz und Rehabilitierung von Böden – Grundlage von Ernährungssicherung (ProSoil)“.

Bis Januar 2018 war sie Referatsleiterin für Sektor- und Managementtraining an der Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit der GIZ. Zuvor war sie Teamleiterin von Projekten und Programmen der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Bewirtschaftung natürlicher Ressourcen und ländliche Entwicklung.

Sie ist seit 1991 für die GIZ tätig und verfügt über langjährige Arbeitserfahrung in Afrika südlich der Sahara, im Mittelmeerraum und in Zentralasien.

Als Mitautorin des allerersten deutschen Berichts über den Klimawandel an den deutschen Bundestag im Jahr 1988 sah sie den Zusammenhang zwischen Klimawandel, Böden und menschlichem Leben während ihrer gesamten beruflichen Laufbahn als Herausforderung.

Sie hat auf lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene gearbeitet. Zu ihren Kernkompetenzen gehören der Klimawandel, die Umweltpolitik, ländliche Entwicklung, Führungs- und Managementqualitäten sowie organisatorische Entwicklung.

Dr. Trux ist Biologin und hat an der Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität in Bonn promoviert.

Christian Lohbauer, 54 Jahre alt, hat an der Universität von São Paulo, Brasilien, in Politikwissenschaften promoviert. Von 1994 bis 1997 studierte er mit einem Stipendium der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung an der Universität Bonn, Deutschland. Er war Manager für Internationale Beziehungen des Industrieverbands vom Bundesstaat São Paulo – FIESP (2001-2004), stellvertretender Sekretär für internationale Beziehungen der Stadtverwaltung von São Paulo (2005), Geschäftsführer des brasilianischen Verbands der Geflügelexporteure – ABEF (2006-2009), geschäftsführender Präsident des brasilianischen Verbands der Zitrusexporteure – CitrusBR (2009-2013) und Leiter der Abteilung Unternehmensangelegenheiten bei Bayer Brazil (2013-2018). Er ist geschäftsführender Präsident von Croplife Brasil, seit 2006 Direktor des Landwirtschaftsrats des Industrieverbands von São Paulo (COSAG/Fiesp) und seit 1999 Mitglied der internationalen Analysegruppe der Universität von São Paulo (GACINT/IRI/USP).

Seite empfehlen