Land transformation: From competition for land use to integrative use

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Time: Tuesday, 25. January 2022, 8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. (CET), subsequent deep dive 9:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.

Languages: English, German, French

Summary:
Hosted by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), this expert panel highlighted the governance action needed to reverse global trends of land degradation. The recommendations of the flagship report “Rethinking land” by the German Advisory Council on Global Change served as starting point for the discussion. “The international framework is better than it has ever been”, Louise Baker (UNCCD) stated, adding that healthy land is finally acknowledged as the baseline of achieving international environmental objectives. However, the translation of Sustainable Land Management (SLM) into policies offering effective incentives that reach small scale landowners are still missing. Astrid Schomaker (European Commission) underlined the new demand-side driven approach of the EU legislative proposal on deforestation-free supply chains, while indicating the need to work with the partner countries to strengthen sustainability in supply chains, improve forest management, support smallholder farmers and civil society. Indra Kumara (Environment District Agency, Kapuas Hulu, IDN) and Laban Kiplagat (Ministry of Agriculture, KEN) came to similar conclusions, emphasizing that policy cooperation across sectors and strong institutions which address the interests of local stakeholders are the drivers of success for SLM.
In the end, the message was clear: A global transformation to sustainable land use can only be successful if it builds on strong institutional cooperation addressing the land users of today and tomorrow.

Video

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Recording

Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderator

Salina Abraham is an Eritrean-American environmentalist and advocate for community-led action on sustainable landscapes. She is currently the Regional Hub Manager for the Global Landscapes Forum Africa Hub, a Youth4Climate Ambassador at the World Bank and a public policy student at the Harvard Kennedy School. She serves on the Advisory Council to the World Economic Forum’s Trillion Tree platform and the UN FAO’s Forest and Farm Facility. Salina’s academic work explores the impact of corporate social responsibility programs on Eritrea’s rural development, as well as the role of female leadership in economics and finance sectors across Africa. She is the former President of the International Forestry Students’ Association (IFSA) and coordinator of the Youth in Landscapes Initiative.

Introductory Satement

Dr Bärbel Kofler has been a Member of the German Parliament (Bundestag) since 2004 and was appointed Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development on 8 December 2021. From March 2016 to December 2021 she was the Federal Government Commissioner for Human Rights Policy and Humanitarian Aid. In the Bundestag’s 19th electoral term she served on the Committee of Foreign Affairs and was an executive committee member of the SPD parliamentary group.
Bärbel Kofler is a member of the following trade unions: IG BCE (Mining, Chemical and Energy Industrial Union, IG Metall, and GEW (Union of Persons Employed in Education and Science).
The Bavarian Member of the German Parliament is a trained bank clerk, studied computer science at Rosenheim University of Applied Sciences and did a doctorate in linguistics at Salzburg University. After completing her PhD, Bärbel Kofler worked as a DAAD lector in Moscow and as a lecturer at a college for those engaging in civilian service.

Keynote Speaker

Susanne Neubert holds a doctorate in agricultural economics and ecology with a regional focus on Africa. She is the director of the Center for Rural Development (SLE) at Humboldt University Berlin since 2012 and co-author of the Flagship Report „Rethinking Land in the Anthropocene: from Separation to Integration“ of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU). She is a member of the Strategic Advisory Group of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and has more than 30 years of research experience in different institutions, among them the German Institute for Development Policy (DIE), the Berlin Science Center (WZB) and Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF).

Panel Guests

A lawyer by training, Astrid Schomaker is Director for Green Diplomacy and Multilateralism in the European Commission’s Directorate General for Environment. Since joining the Commission in 1992, she has held a variety of posts in the areas of international relations and environment policy, amongst them leading the work on chemical policy, marine issues and the EU’s environment policy strategy to 2030.

Ms. Baker joined the UNCCD secretariat in March 2011 and served as Coordinator of the External Relations and Policy Unit of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification Secretariat. In this role, Louise led work on policy development, communications, advocacy and partnerships. Originally from a rural farming community in the United Kingdom, in August 2020, Executive Secretary Mr. Ibrahim Thiaw appointed Ms. Louise Baker, as the Managing Director of the Global Mechanism of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD). The Global Mechanism supports country level implementation and resource mobilization. Previous United Nations assignments include high-profile public health campaigns on immunization, tuberculosis and tobacco control for the World Health Organization.  She has lived and worked extensively in Central and Eastern Europe and Asia.

Indra Kumara is a forest scientist having held numerous managerial positions in Kapuas Hulu District, West Kalimantan. He was the Head of the Basin and Land Conservation Section, Head of Forest Planning Section, Head of Plantation and Forest Planning Division and Head of Forest Management Division. After two years of coordinating the Sustainable Forest and Biodiversity Management Programme in Borneo, he returned to Kapuas Hulu District, first held a position as Secretary of the Planning Agency and is currently the Secretary of the Environment Agency of Kapuas Hulu district in West Kalimantan. In 2020, he enrolled in the Tropical Biodiversity Conservation Programme of Bogor University as PhD student.

Engineer Laban K. Kiplagat is currently the Director/ Chief Engineer for Agricultural Land and Environment Management in the State department for Crop Development and Agricultural Research at the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives, Kenya. Holding 29 years of work experience at ministry level, he first started as a district agricultural engineer rising through the ranks to become Provincial Irrigation officer before joining National irrigation authority as senior manager and regional Chief engineer. Eng. Kiplagat joined the Ministry of Agriculture in 2018 and deployed to his current position. He also chairs the task force developing the National Agricultural Soil Management, as well as the steering committee on Inter sectoral forum on agro ecology and agro biodiversity (ISFAA), alternate director to the National Irrigation Authority (NIA), as well as other inter-ministerial committees. Eng. Kiplagat has a Bachelor’s Degree in Agricultural Engineering from Egerton University, a Master’s Degree in Project Planning and Management from the University of Nairobi and is currently pursuing a PhD in Project Management at Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.

Impressions

Recommend this webpage

Landwende: Von der Flächenkonkurrenz zur integrativen Nutzung

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Zeit: Dienstag, 25. Januar 2022, 08:00 – 09:00 Uhr, anschließender Deep Dive 09:00 – 09:30 Uhr

Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch

Zusammenfassung:
Eine Ernährungssicherung für 10 Milliarden Menschen innerhalb der planetaren Grenzen ist möglich, lässt sich jedoch nur mit einem kohärenten Ansatz zur Transformation der globalen Landnutzung erreichen. Gesunde Böden als Teil gesunder Ökosysteme sind zentral für Ernährungssicherung, Klimaschutz und den Erhalt biologischer Vielfalt. Die landwirtschaftliche Produktion muss auf bestehenden Flächen nachhaltig intensiviert werden, um langfristige Kosten für Mensch, Umwelt und Klima zu vermindern. Wälder, Artenvielfalt und ihre Ökosystemleistungen spielen dabei eine ebenso zentrale Rolle wie Innovation, Wissen und Zugang zu Kapital und Technik. Doch oft fehlt es an wirksamen Institutionen, um die Vielzahl existierender Strategien zur nachhaltigen Landnutzung umzusetzen und bestehende Barrieren wie Zugang zu Land oder Produktionsmitteln abzubauen. Neben Regierungen stehen hier auch Handel, Wirtschaft und Konsumierende in der Verantwortung, denn globale Agrarlieferketten tragen durch zu geringe Nachhaltigkeitsstandards und mangelnde Governance zu Entwaldung und Degradierung von Böden bei. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung werden Lösungsansätze diskutiert, um diese Zielkonflikte auszubalancieren. Der Fokus soll dabei auf praxiserprobte Lösungsansätze gelegt werden, die helfen, existierende Barrieren für nachhaltige Landnutzung abzubauen, sektorales Silodenken zu überwinden und zur Armutsminderung beizutragen.

Video

(de) Activation needed

We want to inform you that after activation your data will be transmitted to Youtube.

Moderator

Salina Abraham ist eine eritreisch-amerikanische Umweltschützerin und Verfechterin von kommunalen Initiativen für nachhaltige Landschaftsformen. Derzeit ist sie Regional Hub Manager für das Global Landscapes Forum Africa Hub und Youth4Climate-Botschafterin bei der Weltbank. Sie studiert öffentliche Politik an der Harvard Kennedy School.  Sie ist Mitglied des Beirats der Billion-Bäume-Plattform des Weltwirtschaftsforums und der Forest and Farm Facility der FAO. In ihrer akademischen Arbeit untersucht Salina die Auswirkungen von Unternehmensprogrammen für soziale Verantwortung auf die ländliche Entwicklung Eritreas sowie die Rolle weiblicher Führungskräfte im Wirtschafts- und Finanzsektor in ganz Afrika. Salina war früher Präsidentin der International Forestry Students‘ Association (IFSA) sowie Koordinatorin der Initiative „Youth in Landscapes“.

Einleitende Worte

Dr. Bärbel Kofler ist seit 2004 Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestags und wurde am 8. Dezember 2021 zur Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärin bei der Bundesministerin für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung ernannt. Von März 2016 bis Dezember 2021 war sie Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Menschenrechtspolitik und Humanitäre Hilfe. In der 19. Wahlperiode des Deutschen Bundestags war sie im Auswärtigen Ausschuss tätig und gehörte dem Vorstand der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion an.

Bärbel Kofler ist Mitglied der folgenden Gewerkschaften: IG BCE (Industriegewerkschaft Bergbau, Chemie und Energie), IG Metall und GEW (Gewerkschaft Erziehung und Wissenschaft).

Die bayerische Bundestagsabgeordnete absolvierte eine Ausbildung als Bankkauffrau, studierte Informatik an der Fachhochschule Rosenheim und promovierte in Linguistik an der Universität Salzburg. Nach ihrer Promotion arbeitete Bärbel Kofler als DAAD-Lektorin in Moskau sowie als Dozentin an einer Zivildienstschule.

Keynote Sprecher

Susanne Neubert ist promovierte Agrarökonomin und Ökologin mit Afrika als regionalen Schwerpunkt. Sie ist seit 2012 Direktorin am Seminar für Ländliche Entwicklung (SLE) der Berliner Humboldt Universität und Mitautorin des Hauptgutachtens „Landwende im Anthropozän – Von der Konkurrenz zur Integration“ des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU). Sie gehört der Strategischen Beratungsgruppe des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) an und verfügt über mehr als 30 Jahre Forschungserfahrung in verschiedenen Institutionen, unter anderem dem Deutschen Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (WZB) und der Melinda Gates Stiftung (BMGF)

Report Rethinking Land in the Anthropocene: from Separation to Integration

Podiumsgäste

Astrid Schomaker ist ausgebildete Juristin und Direktorin für Grüne Diplomatie und Multilateralismus in der Generaldirektion Umwelt der Europäischen Kommission. Seit ihrem Eintritt in die Kommission im Jahr 1992 hat sie eine Vielzahl an Positionen in den Bereichen internationale Beziehungen und Umweltpolitik bekleidet, darunter die Leitung der Arbeiten zur Chemikalienpolitik, zu Meeresangelegenheiten und zur umweltpolitischen Strategie der EU bis 2030.

Frau Baker kam im März 2011 zum UNCCD-Sekretariat und fungierte als Koordinatorin der Abteilung für Außenbeziehungen und Politik des Sekretariats des Übereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen zur Bekämpfung der Wüstenbildung. In dieser Funktion war Baker federführend in den Bereichen Politikentwicklung, Kommunikation, Interessenvertretung und Partnerschaften. Im August 2020 ernannte der Exekutivsekretär Ibrahim Thiaw Louise Baker, die ursprünglich aus einer ländlichen Gemeinde im Vereinigten Königreich stammt, zur geschäftsführenden Direktorin des Globalen Mechanismus des Übereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen zur Bekämpfung der Wüstenbildung (UNCCD). Der Globale Mechanismus unterstützt die Umsetzung auf Länderebene und Mobilisierung von Ressourcen. Zu ihren früheren Aufgaben bei der UNO gehörten öffentlichkeitswirksame Kampagnen im öffentlichen Gesundheitswesen für die Weltgesundheitsorganisation in den Bereichen Immunisierung, Tuberkulose und Eindämmung des Tabakkonsums. Sie hat lange in Mittel- und Osteuropa und Asien gelebt und gearbeitet.

Indra Kumara ist Forstwissenschaftler und bekleidete zahlreiche Führungspositionen im Bezirk Kapuas Hulu, Westkalimantan. Er war Leiter der Abteilung für die Erhaltung von Flusseinzugsgebieten und Landschaften, Leiter der Abteilung für Forstplanung, Leiter der Abteilung für Plantagen- und Forstplanung sowie Leiter der Abteilung für Waldbewirtschaftung. Nachdem er zwei Jahre lang das Programm für nachhaltige Wald- und Biodiversitätsbewirtschaftung in Borneo koordiniert hatte, kehrte er in den Bezirk Kapuas Hulu zurück, wo er zunächst als Sekretär der Planungsbehörde tätig war und zurzeit Sekretär der Umweltbehörde im Bezirk Kapuas Hulu in Westkalimantan ist. Im Jahr 2020 begann er ein Doktorandenstudium an der Universität im Fachbereich Erhaltung der tropischen Biodiversität.

Laban K. Kiplagat ist Ingenieur und derzeit Direktor/Chefingenieur für landwirtschaftliches Land- und Umweltmanagement in der Abteilung für Entwicklung von Kulturpflanzen und Agrarforschung im kenianischen Ministerium für Landwirtschaft, Viehzucht, Fischerei und Genossenschaften. Er verfügt über 29 Jahre Berufserfahrung auf Ministerialebene. Er begann als Agraringenieur auf Bezirksebene und stieg bis zum Beauftragten für Bewässerung auf Provinzebene auf, bevor er als Führungskraft und regionaler Chefingenieur zur nationalen Bewässerungsbehörde kam. Kiplagat trat im Jahr 2018 in das Landwirtschaftsministerium ein und wurde in seiner derzeitigen Position eingesetzt. Ferner ist er Vorsitzender des Arbeitsstabes, der die Bodenbewirtschaftung für die Landwirtschaft auf nationaler Ebene entwickelt, sowie des Lenkungsausschusses des Intersektoralen Forums für Agrarökologie und Agrobiodiversität (ISFAA), stellvertretender Direktor der nationalen Bewässerungsbehörde (NIA) sowie anderer interministerieller Ausschüsse. Kiplagat hat einen Bachelorabschluss in Agraringenieurwesen von der Egerton Universität, einen Masterabschluss in Projektplanung und -management von der Universität Nairobi und er promoviert zurzeit in Projektmanagement an der Jomo Kenyatta Universität für Landwirtschaft und Technologie.

Seite empfehlen